Methodology

Now in its 11th year, the QS Online MBA Rankings features over 70 business schools – the longest list so far.

As the world adjusts to new ways of living, working and studying alongside COVID-19, universities continue to develop innovative approaches to supporting the aspirations of MBA students.
Imperial College Business School is one such institution leading the change, launching new online modules in digital transformation, AI and machine learning to offer MBA students a contemporary skillset for a digital economy. Leila Guerra, Vice Dean of Education, says the school’s success reflects its pioneering work in creating an academic and educational digital environment “supported by the most innovative learning tools to allow students to connect, progress and define the personal, professional and societal impact they aim to achieve.”
Many of this year’s online MBA providers have adapted to blended or hybrid learning environments, to sustainably service the needs of students who aren’t able to study in ways considered commonplace pre-pandemic.
The Kelley Direct Program has invested millions in new, world-class, virtual classroom spaces. Will Geoghegan, chair of the program and Clinical Associate Professor of Management and Entrepreneurship, explains how the school’s new studios “allow Kelley faculty to create new course content and utilise advanced pedagogical techniques such as ‘flipped classroom learning’ – even in an online environment – making live session time even more valuable and dynamic.”

By Craig OCallaghan

Updated March 9, 2022 Updated March 09

Online MBA programmes have taken on increased importance in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic. To reflect this, the QS Online MBA Rankings 2022 is our largest ranking of online business school provision yet, including over 72 programmes from around the world.  

While full-time MBA programme applications have been in decline in recent years, online MBA programme options have increased in availability and often offer a cheaper alternative to the full-time programme. 

Online MBA programmes have been ranked in this 11th edition of our Online MBA Rankings according to four metric groups, each designed to capture a key component of their mission: employability, diversity and access, the standard of the learning experience, and the quality of the class experience. These four metric groups are: 

Faculty and Teaching (35% of final score) 

Does this programme offer high academic standards? The results incorporate data from QS’s proprietary QS Academic Survey, which captures the sentiments of 95,000 academics globally. This metric also uses inputs provided by participating schools and/or validated by publicly available data. 

This 35 percent is split as follows: 

Academic reputation (15%): This metric gives us an accurate impression of the reputation of an online MBA programme and is based on university and business school nominations from around the world between 2017 and 2021. Academics name the institutions which they believe are the strongest in their subject area. 

 The survey has grown to become the world’s largest survey of academic opinion, and, in terms of size and scope, is an unparalleled means of measuring sentiment in the academic community. 

FTE/number of enrolled students ratio (10%): A higher ratio means students can expect to receive more individual attention from the programme’s faculty. 

Completion rate (10%): This is considered in order to reward programmes which have a consistent cohort and is taken as an indicator that the online MBA programme is worth completing in full. 

Employability (30%) 

How employable are graduates from this online MBA programme? The results incorporate data from QS’s proprietary QS Global Employer Survey, which captures the sentiments of over 44,000 hiring managers worldwide. Each year thousands of employers across all sectors and industries - including Facebook, Google, Uber, Wells Fargo, and Bank of America - respond to the survey with the opportunity to nominate specific business schools that they believe produce the best graduates. 

The QS Global Employer Survey has now been running over 20 years. Between 2017-2021, we collected hundreds of thousands of university and business school nominations from nearly 45,000 global employers. More recent responses have been given the greatest weight in this ranking.  

For the online MBA ranking, we weight more heavily the employers who say they hired online MBAs specifically, as employers don’t always differentiate between the online and full-time versions of the programme.  

The survey helps us have an accurate impression of the reputation of a school compared to its peers among relevant employers who are hiring online MBAs. 

Class Profile (30%) 

How diverse and international is each programme’s class cohort? What is the applicant/place ratio, and how many students are enrolled? How much work experience does the cohort have, on average? These inputs are provided by participating schools and/or validated by publicly available data. 

This 30 percent is split as follows: 

Number of students enrolled (10%): Higher number is important because it means school will have a lot of experience putting many students through the online MBA curriculum. It is also a positive for students because their online MBA network is larger and the groupwork is more diverse.  

Applicant/place ratio (5%): We look at the number of applicants for the online programme over a given period compared with the number of places available for that period. The higher the ratio, the more popular the programme and the higher the score. This is because a higher ratio means it is more selective and points are given to reward this competitiveness. 

Work experience (5%): A large aspect of studying an online MBA is group work and case discussion. Having an online MBA cohort with more work experience provides more perspectives from professional settings and projects that elevate the entire programme experience. This is vital as you don’t just learn from your teachers, but also your peers. 

Proportion of female students (5%): The highest scores are awarded to the online MBA programmes which get closest to gender parity (a 50:50 split). 

Number of nationalities represented (5%): The highest scores are awarded to the online MBA programmes with the most diversity in the classroom. 

Class Experience (5%) 

What is the calibre of each programme’s learning experience? This includes a range of evenly-weighted indicators including physical meetups, regular synchronous classes, access to a learning app on a mobile and/or tablet, and 24/7 tech support. These factors help to create a rewarding experience for the online MBA student. These inputs are provided by participating schools and/or validated by publicly available data. 

As not all of the above factors are always relevant to each online MBA programme, we take a score from the schools which have some or all of these components.  

This article was originally published in April 2020 . It was last updated in March 2022

Written by

As editor of TopUniversities.com, Craig oversees the site's editorial content and network of student contributors. He also plays a key editorial role in the publication of several guides and reports, including the QS Top Grad School Guide.

Related Articles

Most Shared

Most Read

English

QS在线MBA排名方法

今年是QS在线MBA排名的第11年,有70多所商学院上榜,是迄今为止最长的名单。

由于COVID-19世界随之适应新的生活、工作和学习方式,各院校继续开发创新的方法来支持MBA学生的愿望。

帝国理工学院商学院就是这样一个引领变革的院校,推出了数字转型、人工智能和机器学习的新在线模块,为MBA学生提供数字经济的现代技能。教育副院长Leila Guerra说,学校的成功反映了它在创造学术和教育数字环境方面的开创性工作,"在最创新的学习工具的支持下,让学生能够连接、进步并确定他们旨在实现的个人、职业和社会影响"。

今年的许多在线MBA项目已经适应了混合或混合学习环境,可持续地服务于那些不能在线下以普通方式学习的学生的需求。
Kelley MBA项目直接在新的、世界级的虚拟教室空间投资了数百万美元。该项目主席、管理和创业学临床副教授Will Geoghegan解释说,学校的新工作室 "允许Kelley商学院创造新的课程内容,并利用先进的教学技术,如'翻转课堂学习'——甚至在在线环境中——使现场课程时间更有价值和活力。"

By Craig OCallaghan

更新日期 March 9, 2022 更新日期 March 09

在新型冠状病毒肺炎大流行之后,在线MBA课程的重要性日益增加。为了反映这一点,2022年QS在线MBA排名是我们迄今为止最大的在线商学院排名,包括来自世界各地的72个项目。

虽然全日制MBA课程的申请在最近几年一直在下降,但在线MBA课程的选择越来越多,而且其往往提供了比全日制课程更便宜的选择。

在线MBA课程已经在我们的在线MBA排名第11版中根据四个指标组进行了排名。每个课程的设计都抓住了其使命的一个关键组成部分:就业能力、多样性和可及性、学习经历的标准以及课堂体验的质量。这四个量度组是:

教员和教学(占比35%)

这个项目提供多高的学术标准?研究结果综合了QS专有的学术调查数据,该调查收集了全球95,000名学者的意见,该指标还使用了参与学校提供的输入数据和/或经公开数据验证的输入数据。

这35%的权重分配如下:

学术声誉(15%): 这个指标让我们对在线MBA项目的声誉有一个准确的印象。它是基于2017年至2021期间世界各地的大学和商学院的提名。学者们列出了他们认为在自己的学科领域最强的院校。

该调查已发展成为世界上最大的学术意见调查,就规模和范围而言,是测量学术界情绪的一种无与伦比的手段。

全职教员与注册学生人数比率(10%):较高的比率意味着学生有望从该项目的教师那里得到更多的个人关注。

完成率(10%):这被认为是为了奖励那些有着共同群体的项目,并被视为在线MBA项目值得完成一个完整的指标。

就业能力(30%)

这个在线MBA项目的毕业生就业前景如何?这一结果综合了QS专有的全球雇主调查的数据。该调查捕捉了全球44,000多名招聘经理的反馈。包括脸书(Facebook)、谷歌(Google)、优步(Uber)、富国银行(Wells Fargo)和美国银行(Bank of America)在内的各行各业数千名雇主参与了这项调查,提名他们认为能培养出最优秀毕业生的具体商学院。

QS全球雇主调查已经进行了20多年,在2017-2021年间,我们从全球近4.5万家雇主那里收集了数十万份大学和商学院提名。在这一排名中,最近的回应被赋予了最大的权重。

对于在线MBA排名,我们更看重那些自称专门聘用了在线MBA的雇主,因为雇主并不总是区分在线MBA和全日制MBA。

这项调查有助于我们在招聘在线MBA的相关雇主的过程中,对一所学校与其同行的声誉有一个准确的印象。

班级概况(30%)

每个项目的班级有怎样的多样性和国际性?申请人数与学额的比例是多少,以及有多少学生就读?该队列平均有多少工作经验?这些投入由参与学校提供和/或由公开数据验证。

这30%的份额分配如下:

注册学生人数(10%):较高的人数很重要,因为这意味着学校将有大量的经验,让许多学生通过在线MBA课程。这对学生来说也是一个积极的方面,因为他们的在线MBA网络更大,团队工作更多样化。

申请人/学额比率(5%):我们关注的是某一特定时期内,在线项目的申请人数与该时期内可供选择的名额数量之间的对比。比例越高,说明项目越受欢迎,分数也越高。这是因为较高的比率意味着其更具选择性,而得分是为了奖励这种竞争力。

工作经验(5%):学习在线MBA的一个重要方面是小组工作和案例讨论。拥有更多的工作经验的在线MBA学员,可以从专业环境和项目中获得更多视角,从而提升整个项目的体验。这一点至关重要,因为你不仅要向你的老师学习,还要向你的同伴学习。

女生比例(5%):得分最高的是最接近性别平等的在线MBA课程(男女比例50:50)。

国籍数量(5%):得分最高的是课堂上最具多样性的在线MBA课程。

课堂体验(5%)

每个项目的学习体验的质量如何?这包括一系列加权平均的指标,定期同步课程、在手机或平板电脑上使用学习应用程序,以及全天候技术支持。这些因素有助于为在线MBA学生创造有益的体验,这些投入由参与学校提供或由公开数据验证。

由于并非所有上述因素都与每个在线MBA项目相关,所以我们从拥有部分或全部这些因素的学校中获得一个分数。

本文首发于 2020 April , 更新于 2022 March 。

作者:

As editor of TopUniversities.com, Craig oversees the site's editorial content and network of student contributors. He also plays a key editorial role in the publication of several guides and reports, including the QS Top Grad School Guide.

最新文章

被分享最多的文章

被阅读最多的文章

QS China