Methodology

Discover the world's top universities with the QS World University Rankings® 2022.

1,300 institutions are included in this year's rankings, making it the largest QS World University Rankings ever published. Now in its 19th year, the rankings are compiled using a range of criteria, including academic and employer reputation. More information can be found in our methodology.

Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) has been crowned as the best university in the world for a 10th consecutive year. Although there are no new entrants in the top 10, Peking University has climbed to feature in the top 20 for the first time ever. 

By Craig OCallaghan

Updated October 27, 2021 Updated October 27

The QS World University Rankings continue to enjoy a remarkably consistent methodological framework, compiled using six simple metrics that we believe effectively capture university performance. Since faculty area normalisation was introduced in 2015 to ensure that institutions specialising in Life Sciences and Natural Sciences were not unduly advantaged, we have avoided fundamental changes. In doing so, we aim to ensure that year-on-year comparisons remain valid, and that unnecessary volatility is minimised.

Thus, universities continue to be evaluated according to the following six metrics:

  1. Academic Reputation
  2. Employer Reputation
  3. Faculty/Student Ratio
  4. Citations per faculty
  5. International Faculty Ratio
  6. International Student Ratio

Academic reputation (40%)

The highest weighting of any metric is allotted to an institution’s Academic Reputation score. Based on our Academic Survey, it collates the expert opinions of over 130,000 individuals in the higher education space regarding teaching and research quality at the world’s universities. In doing so, it has grown to become the world’s largest survey of academic opinion, and, in terms of size and scope, is an unparalleled means of measuring sentiment in the academic community.

Employer reputation (10%)

Students will continue to perceive a university education as a means by which they can receive valuable preparation for the employment market. It follows that assessing how successful institutions are at providing that preparation is essential for a ranking whose primary audience is the global student community.

Our Employer Reputation metric is based on over 75,000 responses to our QS Employer Survey, and asks employers to identify those institutions from which they source the most competent, innovative, effective graduates. The QS Employer Survey is also the world’s largest of its kind.

Faculty/Student Ratio (20%)

Teaching quality is typically cited by students as the metric of highest importance to them when comparing institutions using a ranking. It is notoriously difficult to measure, but we have determined that measuring teacher/student ratios is the most effective proxy metric for teaching quality. It assesses the extent to which institutions are able to provide students with meaningful access to lecturers and tutors, and recognizes that a high number of faculty members per student will reduce the teaching burden on each individual academic.

Citations per faculty (20%)

Teaching is one key pillar of an institution’s mission. Another is research output. We measure institutional research quality using our Citations per Faculty metric. To calculate it, we take the total number of citations received by all papers produced by an institution across a five-year period by the number of faculty members at that institution.

To account for the fact that different fields have very different publishing cultures – papers concerning the Life Sciences are responsible nearly half of all research citations as of 2015 – we normalize citations. This means that a citation received for a paper in Philosophy is measured differently to one received for a paper on Anatomy and Physiology, ensuring that, in evaluating an institution’s true research impact, both citations are given equal weight.

We use a five-year publication window for papers, so for this edition we looked at papers published from 2015 to 2019. We then take a look at a six-year citation window; reflecting the fact that it takes time for research to be effectively disseminated. In this edition we look for citations from 2015-2020.

All citations data is sourced using Elsevier’s Scopus database, the world’s largest repository of academic journal data. This year, QS assessed 96 million citations from 14.7 million papers once self-citations were excluded.

International faculty ratio/International student ratio (5% each)

A highly international university acquires and confers a number of advantages. It demonstrates an ability to attract faculty and students from across the world, which in turn suggests that it possesses a strong international brand. It implies a highly global outlook: essentially for institutions operating in an internationalised higher education sector. It also provides both students and staff alike with a multinational environment, facilitating exchange of best practices and beliefs. In doing so, it provides students with international sympathies and global awareness: soft skills increasingly valuable to employers. Both of these metrics are worth 5% of the overall total.

This article was originally published in January 2020 . It was last updated in October 2021

Written by

As editor of TopUniversities.com, Craig oversees the site's editorial content and network of student contributors. He also plays a key editorial role in the publication of several guides and reports, including the QS Top Grad School Guide.

22 shares

Related Articles

Most Shared

Most Read

English

QS世界大学排名 - 排名方法

通过2022年的QS世界大学排名®,发现世界顶尖大学。

共有1,300所院校被列入今年的排名榜单中,这也使得其成为有史以来规模最大的QS世界大学排名。今年是排名发布的第19个年头,QS的世界大学排名采用一系列标准进行编制,包括学术和雇主声誉。更多信息可以在我们的排名方法中找到。

麻省理工学院(MIT)连续10年被评为世界上最好的大学。尽管前10名中没有新的进入者,但北京大学有史以来第一次攀升到了世界前20名。

By Craig OCallaghan

更新日期 October 27, 2021 更新日期 October 27

QS世界大学排名继续采用一个非常一致的方法论框架—其是采用六个我们认为能有效反映大学表现的简单指标编制的。2015年,为确保生命科学和自然科学专业院校不会受到不适当的影响,我们引进了教员区标准化。从那以后,我们成功避免了根本性的变化。我们这样做的目的是确保同比比较仍然有效,并将不必要的波动降至最低。

因此,继续按照以下六个指标进行大学评估:
1. 学术声誉
2. 雇主声誉
3. 师生比
4. 每名教师的引用率
5. 国际教师比例
6. 留学生比例
 

学术声誉(40%)

任何指标的最高权重分配给院校的学术声誉分数。根据我们的学术调查,其整理了世界高等教育领域超过130,000人对全世界大学教学和研究质量的专家意见。在这一过程中,其已经成为世界上最大规模的学术意见调查,在规模和范围上,这是用于衡量学术界观点的一种无与伦比的手段。

雇主声誉(10%)

学生们将继续把大学教育视为他们为就业市场做有价值准备的一种手段。因此,评估各院校在提供这种准备方面的成功率对于以全球学生群体为主要受众的排名至关重要。

我们的雇主声誉指标基于对我们QS雇主调查近75,000份回复,并要求雇主告知其从哪些院校获得最有能力、创新力和效率的毕业生。QS雇主调查也是全世界同类调查中规模最大的。

师生比(20%)

用排名比较各所院校时,学生通常认为教学质量是最重要的指标。众所周知,该指标很难衡量,但我们已经确定:衡量师生比是教学质量最有效的替代性指标。其评估各所院校在为学生提供接触讲师和导师的实质性机会方面的能力,并表明:为每名学生配备大量教员将减轻每名专业学者的教学负担。
师生比占院校总分的20%。

每位教员的引用率(20%)

 教学是院校使命的一个重要支柱。另一个是研究成果。我们使用每名教员引用率这一指标来衡量院校的研究质量。为了计算它,我们用院校五年内出产的所有论文的总引用率乘以该院校的教员人数。

考虑到不同领域的出版文化非常不同 — 截止2015年,有关生命科学的论文占研究引文总数近一半 — 我们将引文标准化。这意味着:哲学论文的引用率与解剖学和生理学论文的引用率的衡量方式不同,从而确保:在评估院校的真正研究影响时,两个引用率的权重相等。

我们使用五年的论文发表窗口,因此在本版中,我们仅考虑2015年至2019年期间发表的论文。然后,我们考虑六年的引文窗口;从而反映研究需要时间得到有效传播。在这个版本中,我们寻找2015-2020年的引用率。

所有引文数据都来自爱思唯尔的Scopus数据库—世界上最大的学术期刊数据库。今年,QS评估了1470万篇论文中的9600万条引文,同时排除了自引文。

国际教师比例/留学生比例(各5%)

高度国际化的大学具有并提供许多优势。其展示了吸引来自世界各地的师生的能力—这反过来表明它拥有强大的国际品牌。其意味着高度全球化的前景:主要针对国际化高等教育部门运营的院校。其还为学生和员工提供了一种跨国环境,从而促进最佳做法和信念的交流。在这一过程中,其为学生提供了国际同情和全球意识:对雇主越来越有价值的软技能。这两个指标的价值都占总价值的5%。

本文首发于 2016 August , 更新于 2021 October 。

作者:

As editor of TopUniversities.com, Craig oversees the site's editorial content and network of student contributors. He also plays a key editorial role in the publication of several guides and reports, including the QS Top Grad School Guide.

22 shares

最新文章

被分享最多的文章

被阅读最多的文章

QS China