Methodology

Find out more about the methodology behind the QS World University Rankings: USA 2020.

The first-ever QS USA Rankings uses unique datasets (including the world’s largest surveys of both academic and employer opinion) to provide both domestic and international students with the most relevant possible ranking of American universities.

As well as assessing the employability outcomes for students and the levels of diversity & internationalization they can expect on campus, the ranking also hopefully gives an indication of what sort of teaching environment and learning opportunities students can expect, while also highlighting institutional efficiency at all levels. This includes retention rate between first and second year, research collaborations with top companies, graduation rates of Pell grant recipients versus other students, for example.

Updated May 20, 2020 Updated May 20

Universities and liberal arts colleges were evaluated according to the following 17 metrics falling into 4 broad groupings (Employability, Diversity & Internationalisation, Learning experience, and Research).

Employability (27%)

This category is designed to look at the employment prospects of students graduating from US higher education institutions, through metrics that include the results of our Employer Reputation Survey, Alumni outcomes and salary post-graduation.

Employer reputation (10%)

Students will continue to perceive a university education as a means by which they can receive valuable preparation for the employment market. It follows that assessing how successful institutions are at providing that preparation is essential for a ranking whose primary audience is the global student community. 

Our Employer Reputation metric is based on almost 45,000 responses to our QS Employer Survey and asks employers to identify those institutions from which they source the most competent, innovative, effective graduates. The QS Employer Survey is also the world’s largest of its kind.

Alumni outcomes (10%)

QS has been recording the educational background of over 30,000 highly influential employers, sector leaders, and award-winning professionals, as well as individual professionals both senior and junior. The aim is to rank which universities are proving themselves as sources of successful employees and employers and can claim to have positively influenced their alumni’s development. The criterion is based on the fact that universities with strong track records in this field will have the kind of high-quality alumni networks that provide students with connections, career advice, and internship/ work placement opportunities – all of which boost employability. 

Salary after 10 years (7%)

This indicator looks at the average salary of graduates that received federal financial aid, 10 years after first entering university. 

Diversity & Internationalisation (25%)

This broad category attempts to understand to what extend a higher education institution is striving towards being as inclusive as possible, while promoting an environment that seeks to achieve UN Sustainable Development Goal 5: Gender Equality and Goal 10: Reduced Inequality. 

Gender pay gap (2.5%)

One of the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) is to achieve Gender Equality through female equality in the workplace and the eradication of unfair practices targeting women. Unequal pay only further fuels gender-based discrimination in the workplace and must be tackled, first and foremost in the beacons of openness and tolerance that universities and colleges purport to be. The average weighted monthly salaries of both genders at professorial level only were compared within an institution, as it was assumed that there should be little discrepancy at this level.

Faculty gender diversity (2.5%)

This indicator is also used against the backdrop of the UN’s SDG to achieve Gender Equality. It aims to capture whether there is equal representation of both male and female employees within the faculty of a higher education institution. Institutions that are moving towards equal representation are demonstrating their commitment to progress towards achieving Gender Equality. 

Ratio of undergraduate students receiving Pell grants (5%)

This indicator focuses on the percentage of enrolled undergraduate students that were awarded a Pell grant. The Pell grant programme provides grant assistance to eligible undergraduate postsecondary students with demonstrated financial need to help meet higher education expenses.

Students’ ethnicity mix (5%)

The student fabric of a higher education institution is an important indicator that reflects its openness and attention to nurture a diverse, culturally sensitive and tolerant student cohort. An institution with a diverse student ethnic mix demonstrates it cultivates inclusiveness and promotes social mobility, while offering its students a diverse student learning experience crucial in today’s global world.  It should also be understood against the backdrop of SDG 10: Reduced Inequality. 

Number of Fulbright recipients per institution (5%)

This indicator looks at which US institutions are top producers of US Fulbright students over a combined period of 3 years. The Fulbright Programme is the US government’s flagship international educational exchange programme and is sponsored by the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs of the United States Department of State. Since its inception in 1946, the Fulbright Programme has provided more than 390,000 participants—chosen for their academic merit and leadership potential — with the opportunity to study, teach and conduct research, exchange ideas and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns. In the United States, the Institute of International Education administers and coordinates activities relevant to the Fulbright Student Programme on behalf of the US Department of State. 

Proportion of international students (5%)

A highly international university acquires and confers several advantages. It demonstrates an ability to attract students from across the world, which in turn suggests that it possesses a strong international brand.

Learning experience (22%)

This category aims to reflect the overall learning environment provided by a higher education institution to its students, through the level of support it offers all its students regardless of background, as demonstrated through metrics with regard to retention rate, teaching spending and graduation rates of students with and without federal financial support.  

Average instructional expenditure per FTE student (10%)

Average teaching spending per FTE student demonstrates how much financial resources a higher education institution spends on average on teaching per student. This indicator is used as a proxy to determine how strongly an institution is committed to offer the most effective learning environment possible.

Retention rate (5%)

A measure of the rate at which students persist in their educational programme at an institution, expressed as a percentage. For four-year institutions, this is the percentage of first-time bachelors (or equivalent) degree-seeking undergraduates from the previous fall who are again enrolled in the current fall. For all other institutions this is the percentage of first-time degree/certificate-seeking students from the previous fall who either re-enrolled or successfully completed their program by the current fall.

Pell grant student graduation rates compared with other students (3.5%)

This indicator focuses on how well an institution supports students in financial need that were awarded a Pell grant recipient in graduating within 150% of normal time to programme completion, compared to the average graduation rate for students that did not receive a Pell grant or Stafford loan. 

Student-faculty ratio (3.5%)

Teaching quality is typically cited by students as the metric of the highest importance to them when comparing institutions. It is notoriously difficult to measure, but we have determined for this exercise that measuring student/faculty ratios is the most effective proxy metric currently available. This indicator assesses the extent to which institutions are able to provide undergraduate students with meaningful access to faculty members and recognizes that a high number of faculty members per undergraduate student will reduce the teaching burden on each individual academic.

Research (26%)

This category is designed to demonstrate how the research of a higher education institution is having an impact. It focuses on the quality of the research, regardless of the size of an institution, and how open and internationally collaborative its research outputs are, whether within academia or with industry. 

Academic reputation (12.5%)

Academic reputation is measured using a global survey, in which academics are asked to identify the institutions where they believe the best work is currently taking place within their own field of expertise. The survey collates the expert opinions of over 94,000 individuals in the higher education space. It has grown to become the world’s largest survey of academic opinion, in terms of size and scope, and is an unparalleled means of measuring sentiment in the academic community. 

Citations per paper (7%)

Citations per paper focuses on the performance of the papers an institution produces that are actually indexed in Scopus. It assesses the number of citations per research paper published, aiming to give an idea of the impact each institution’s research is having within the research community 

International Research Network (IRN) (3.5%)

This indicator assesses the degree of international diversity in terms of research collaboration for each evaluated institution. The Margalef Index, widely used in environmental sciences, has been adapted to estimate the richness of the selected international research partners for a given institution. 

Partnerships with Employers per Faculty (3%)

This indicator uses Elsevier’s Scopus database to establish which universities are collaborating successfully with global companies to produce citable, transformative research. Only distinct companies producing two or more collaborative papers in a five-year period (2013-17) are included in the count. This year’s ranking accounts for university collaborations with 2,000 top global companies, as listed by Fortune and Forbes. The figure is adjusted to account for the number of faculty at each university. 

This article was originally published in May 2020 .

Written by

Related Articles

Most Shared

Most Read

English

排名方法

了解更多关于2020年QS美国大学排名背后的方法论。

首届QS美国大学排名使用独特的数据集(包括世界上最大的学术和雇主意见调查),为美国国内和国际学生提供最相关的美国大学排名。

除了评估学生的就业能力结果和校园内的多样性&国际化水平外,该排名还致力于说明学生可以期待什么样的教学环境和学习机会,同时也能凸显出各高校在各个层面的效率。这包括一年级和二年级之间的留级率、与顶尖公司的研究合作、佩尔助学金获得者与其他学生的毕业率等。

By Arjun Parashar

更新日期 March 4, 2021 更新日期 March 04

根据以下17项指标对大学和文科学院进行评估,这些指标分为4大类(就业能力、多样性和国际化、学习体验和研究)。

就业能力 (27%)

这个类别是通过我们的雇主声誉调查、校友成果和毕业后的薪资等指标来考察美国高等教育机构毕业学生的就业前景。

雇主声誉 (10%)

学生将继续认为大学教育是他们为就业市场做宝贵准备的一种手段。因此,评估院校在提供就业准备方面的成功程度对于以全球学生群体为主要受众的排名至关重要。 

我们的 "雇主声誉 "指标是基于对QS雇主调查的近45,000份回复,要求雇主们识别出那些他们从哪些院校中挑选出最有能力、最具创新精神、最有效的毕业生。QS雇主调查也是世界上最大的雇主调查。

校友产出 (10%)

QS一直在记录超过30,000名具有高度影响力的雇主、行业领袖、获奖专业人员以及高级和初级专业人员的教育背景。其目的是对哪些大学证明自己是成功的员工和雇主的来源,并可以宣称对校友的发展产生了积极影响的大学进行排名。该标准是基于这样的事实,即在这一领域有良好记录的大学将拥有高质量的校友网络,为学生提供人脉、职业建议和实习/工作机会--所有这些都能提高就业能力。

毕业10年后薪酬 (7%)

该指标考察的是首次进入大学后10年内获得联邦财政援助的毕业生的平均工资。

多样性和国际化 (25%)

这一广泛的类别试图了解高等教育机构在多大程度上努力实现包容性,同时促进实现联合国可持续发展目标5(性别平等)和目标10(减少不平等)的环境。

男女收入差 (2.5%)

联合国的可持续发展目标之一是通过工作场所的女性平等和消除针对妇女的不公平做法来实现性别平等。不平等的薪酬只会进一步助长工作场所的性别歧视,必须首先在大学和学院所宣称的开放和宽容的灯塔中加以解决。只在机构内部比较了教授级的两性平均加权月薪,因为假定在这个级别上应该没有什么差异。

教员性别多样性 (2.5%)

这一指标也是在联合国实现两性平等的可持续发展目标的背景下使用的。该指标旨在反映高等教育机构中的男女雇员是否有平等的代表性。正在努力实现平等代表权的机构表明,它们致力于在实现两性平等方面取得进展。

获得佩尔助学金的本科生比例 (5%)

该指标侧重于获得佩尔助学金的入学本科生比例。佩尔助学金方案向符合条件的本科生和中学后学生提供助学金,并证明他们有经济需要,以帮助他们支付高等教育费用。

学生种族多样性 (5%)

高等教育机构的学生结构是一个重要的指标,它反映了该机构对培养多元化、文化敏感和宽容的学生群体的开放性和重视程度。一个学生民族多元化的院校,表明其培养了包容性,促进了社会流动性,同时为学生提供了在当今全球范围内至关重要的多元化学生学习体验。  还应在可持续发展目标10:减少不平等的背景下理解。

每个学校的富布赖特获奖者人数 (5%)

该指标考察了3年内哪些美国机构是美国富布赖特学生的顶尖培养对象。富布赖特计划是美国政府的旗舰国际教育交流项目,由美国国务院教育和文化事务局赞助。自1946年成立以来,富布赖特计划已为390,000多名参与者提供了学习、教学和研究的机会,他们的学术成就和领导才能得到了充分的肯定,并为寻找解决国际共同关心的问题做出了贡献。在美国,国际教育研究所代表美国国务院管理和协调与富布赖特学生方案有关的活动。

国际学生占比 (5%)

一所高度国际化的大学有几个优势。它显示出吸引世界各地学生的能力,这反过来又表明它拥有强大的国际品牌。

学习体验 (22%)

这一类别旨在反映高等教育机构为学生提供的整体学习环境,通过对所有学生的支持程度,不论其背景如何,通过衡量有无联邦资助的学生的保留率、教学支出和毕业率等指标来体现。

每个全职学生的平均教学支出 (10%)

每个FTE学生的平均教学支出显示了一个高等教育机构平均每个学生在教学上的财政资源投入。该指标被用来作为判断一个机构在提供最有效的学习环境方面的承诺程度的代表。

留存率 (5%)

衡量学生在一所院校中坚持完成学业的比率,以百分比表示。对于四年制院校来说,这是指上一秋季首次申请学士学位(或同等学历)的本科生中,今年秋季再次入学的学生所占的百分比。对于所有其他院校来说,这是指上一秋季首次申请学位/证书的学生在本年秋季重新入学或顺利完成课程的百分比。

与其他学生相比的佩尔助学金学生的毕业率 (3.5%)

该指标主要关注的是,与没有获得Pell助学金或Stafford贷款的学生的平均毕业率相比,获得Pell助学金或Stafford贷款的学生的平均毕业率在150%的正常毕业时间内,院校对有经济困难的学生的支持程度。

学生教员比 (3.5%)

在比较院校时,教学质量通常被学生称为最重要的衡量标准。这个指标很难衡量,但我们认为衡量学生/教员比例是目前最有效的替代指标。该指标评估了院校在多大程度上能够为本科生提供有意义的师资力量,并认识到每个本科生的师资力量较高,可以减轻每个学生的教学负担。

研究 (26%)

这一类别旨在展示高等教育机构的研究如何产生影响。它侧重于研究的质量,不论机构的规模大小,以及其研究成果的开放性和国际合作程度,不论是在学术界还是与产业界的合作。

学术声誉 (12.5%)

学术声誉是通过一项全球调查来衡量的,在这项调查中,学术界人士被要求确定他们认为目前在自己的专业领域内最优秀的机构。该调查整理了高等教育领域94,000多名专家的意见。从规模和范围来看,它已成为世界上规模最大的学术意见调查,是衡量学术界情绪的一种无与伦比的手段。

论文引用率 (7%)

每篇论文的引文量主要是指一个机构所发表的、被Scopus收录的论文的表现。它评估了每篇研究论文的引用次数,目的是让人们了解到每家机构的研究在研究界的影响。

国际研究网络 (IRN) (3.5%)

该指标评估了每个被评估机构在研究合作方面的国际多样性程度。在环境科学中广泛使用的Margalef指数已被改编为估计特定机构的国际研究伙伴的丰富程度。

单位教员于雇主的合作关系 (3%)

该指标使用Elsevier的Scopus数据库来确定哪些大学正在与全球公司成功合作,以产生可引用的、具有变革性的研究。只有在五年内(2013-17年)产生两篇或更多合作论文的独立公司才被纳入统计范围。今年的排名占到了《财富》和《福布斯》所列出的大学与2000家全球顶尖企业的合作情况。该数字是根据每所大学的教师人数进行了调整。

本文首发于 2020 May , 更新于 2021 March 。

79 shares

最新文章

被分享最多的文章

被阅读最多的文章

QS China