QS World University Rankings by Subject: Methodology

Find out more about the methodology behind the QS World University Rankings by Subject 2022.

Featuring 51 of the most popular subjects with students around the world, the QS World University Rankings by Subject is the most comprehensive ranking of its kind. This year, Harvard University and Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) share the honour of being the top performers globally, ranking as the number one university for 12 subjects each. A further 14 subject rankings tables are topped by British universities.

As well as the rankings for 51 different subjects, the QS World University Rankings by Subject also include five rankings for broad subject areas: Arts & Humanities, Engineering & Technology, Life Sciences & Medicine, Natural Sciences and Social Sciences & Management.

Craig OCallaghan

Updated June 8, 2022 Updated June 08

Five components are used to rank universities in the QS World University Rankings by Subject 2022:

· Academic reputation

· Employer reputation

· Research citations per paper

· H-index

· International Research Network (by broad-faculty area)

The QS World University Rankings by Subject ranks the world’s top universities in individual subject areas, covering 51 subjects. The rankings aim to help prospective students identify the world’s leading schools in their chosen field in response to high demand for subject-level comparisons.

Each of the subject rankings is compiled using four sources. The first two of these are QS’s global surveys of academics and employers, which are used to assess institutions’ international reputation in each subject. The second two indicators assess research impact, based on research citations per paper and h-index in the relevant subject. These are sourced from Elsevier’s Scopus database, the world’s most comprehensive research citations database. 

At the broad-faculty area, an additional indicator is used. International Research Network (IRN) shines a light on the sustained international research collaboration of an institution. This was introduced in the 2022 edition of this ranking after broad support from our Global Rankings Advisory Board.

1. Academic reputation

QS’s global survey of academics has been at the heart of the QS World University Rankings® since their inception in 2004. In 2022, the QS World University Rankings by Subject draws on responses from over 130,000 academics worldwide.

Having provided their name, contact details, job title and the institution where they are based, respondents identify the countries, regions and faculty areas they are most familiar with, and up to two narrower subject disciplines in which they have expertise. For each of the (up to two) faculty areas they identify, respondents are asked to list up to 10 domestic and 30 international institutions which they consider to be excellent for research in the given area. They are not able to select their own institution.

For the QS World University Rankings by Subject, the results of the survey are filtered according to the narrow area of expertise identified by respondents. While academics can select up to two narrow areas of expertise, greater emphasis is placed on respondents who have identified only one.

2. Employer reputation

The QS World University Rankings are unique in incorporating employability as a key factor in the evaluation of international universities. In 2022, the QS World University Rankings by Subject draws on nearly 75,000 survey responses from graduate employers worldwide.

The employer reputation survey works on a similar basis to the academic one, but without the channelling for different faculty areas. Employers are asked to identify up to 10 domestic and 30 international institutions they consider excellent for the recruitment of graduates. They are also asked to identify the disciplines from which they prefer to recruit. By examining the intersection of these two questions, we can infer a measure of excellence in a given discipline.

3. Research citations per paper

For the QS World University Rankings by Subject we measure citations per paper, rather than citations per faculty member. This is due to the impracticality of reliably gathering faculty numbers broken down by discipline for each institution.

A minimum publication threshold is set for each subject to avoid potential anomalies stemming from small numbers of highly cited papers. Both the minimum publications threshold and the weighting applied to the citations indicator are adapted in order to best reflect prevalent publication and citation patterns in a given discipline. All citations data is sourced from the Scopus, spanning a five-year period.

4. H-index

A score based on ‘h-index’ has also been incorporated in the QS World University Rankings by Subject. The h-index is a way of measuring both the productivity and impact of the published work of a scientist or scholar. The index is based on the set of the academic’s most cited papers and the number of citations that they have received in other publications.

The h-index can also be applied to the productivity and impact of a group of scientists, such as a department, university or country, as well as a scholarly journal. The index was suggested by Jorge E. Hirsch, a physicist at UCSD, as a tool for determining theoretical physicists’ relative quality, and is sometimes called the Hirsch index or Hirsch number.

5. International Research Network

Introduced this year (2022 edition), the IRN Index reflects the ability of institutions to diversify the geography of their international research network by establishing sustainable research partnerships with other higher education institutions. It also reflects the efficiency of this as we look at the diversity of partner locations against the efforts needed to achieve such a diversity. You can find more details on this indicator here

Weightings

As research cultures and publication rates vary significantly across academic disciplines, the QS World University Rankings by Subject applies a different weighting of the above indicators in each subject. For example, in medicine, where publication rates are very high, research citations and the h-index account for 25% of each university’s total score. On the other hand, in areas with much lower publication rates such as history, these research-related indicators only account for 15% of the total ranking score. Meanwhile in subjects such as art and design, where there are too few papers published to be statistically significant, the ranking is based solely on the employer and academic surveys.

Please see our Support Page for more details.

This article was originally published in February 2017 . It was last updated in June 2022

Written by

As editor of TopUniversities.com, Craig oversees the site's editorial content and network of student contributors. He also plays a key editorial role in the publication of several guides and reports, including the QS Top Grad School Guide.

137 shares

Related Articles

Most Shared

Most Read

English

QS世界大学学科排名:排名方法

了解更多关于2022年QS世界大学学科排名的排名方法。

QS世界大学学科排名包括51个最受世界各地学生欢迎的学科,是同类排名中最全面的排名。今年,哈佛大学和麻省理工学院(MIT)分享了全球最佳表现的荣誉,分别在12个科目中排名第一。另有14个科目的排名表由英国大学占据首位。

除了51个不同学科的排名外,QS世界大学学科排名还包括5个大学科领域的排名。艺术与人文工程与技术生命科学与医学自然科学和社会科学与管理

Craig OCallaghan

更新日期 June 8, 2022 更新日期 June 08

在2022年QS世界大学学科排名中,有五个组成部分被用来对大学进行排名。

  • 学术声誉
  • 雇主声誉
  • 每篇论文的研究引用率
  • H-指数
  • 国际研究网络(按广义院系领域)

按学科QS世界大学排名囊括了各个学科领域的世界顶尖大学,涵盖51个学科。该排名旨在帮助未来的学生根据对按学科对比的高要求,确定他们所选领域的世界领先学校。

每一个学科排名都基于四个来源编制。其中前两项是QS对专业学者和雇主的全球调查,用于评估院校在各个领域的国际声誉。第二个指标是根据每篇论文的研究引文和相关学科的h指数来评估研究影响。这些数据来源于爱思唯尔的Scopus数据库—世界上最全面的研究引文数据库。 

这四个组成部分结合起来,产生每个学科排名的结果,同时根据每个学科调整权重。

1.学术声誉

自2004年启动以来,QS的全球专业学者调查一直是QS世界大学排行®的核心。2022年,按学科QS世界大学排名吸收了全球近130,000名专业学者的回答。

在提供了姓名、联系方式、职称和所在院校后,受访者告知了其最熟悉的国家、地区和教员领域,以及最多两个其最擅长的具体学科领域。对于所告知的每个(最多2个)教师领域,受访者应要求列出在自己心目中在特定研究领域表现优秀的国内(最多10所)和国际(最多30所)院校。他们无法选择自己的院校。
对于QS按学科世界大学排名,根据受访者确定的具体专业领域筛选调查结果。虽然专业学者最多可以选择两个具体专业领域,但重心放在只告知了一个专业领域的受访者。

2.雇主声誉

QS世界大学排名独创性地将就业能力用作国际大学评估的关键因素。2022年,QS按学科世界大学排名,吸收了全球近75,000万名毕业生雇主的调查回复。

雇主声誉调查的工作依据与学术调查相似,但没有针对不同的教师领域进行引导。雇主应要求告知最多10个自己心目中在毕业生招聘方面表现优异的国内(最多10所)和国际院校(最多30所)。他们还应要求告知他们选择从中招聘人员的学科。通过考察这两个问题的交叉点,我们可以推断出某一学科的优秀程度。

3.每篇论文的研究引文率

对于QS按学科世界大学排名,我们衡量每篇论文的引文数,而不是每位教师的引用率。这是因为每所院校按学科划分教员的人数无法可靠获得。

为每个学科设置一个最小的出版阈值,以避免由少量高引用论文引起的潜在异常。为了最好地反映某一学科中普遍存在的出版物和引文方式,对最低出版物门槛和适用于引文指标的权重进行了调整。所有引文数据都来源于Scopus,时间跨度为五年。

4.H指数

基于“h指数”的分数也纳入了QS按学科世界大学排名。h指数是一种衡量科学家或学者所发表作品的生产力和影响力的方法。该指数基于相关专业学者最常被引用的论文集以及该论文集在其他出版物中被引用的次数。

h指数也可以应用于一组科学家的生产力和影响力,例如部门、大学或国家和学术期刊。该指数是由加利福尼亚大学圣迭戈分校的物理学家Jorge E. Hirsch提出,是一种用于确定理论物理学家相对质量的工具,有时称为Hirsch指数或Hirsch数。

5. 国际研究网络

今年引入的IRN指数(2022年版)反映了各机构通过与其他高等教育机构建立可持续的研究伙伴关系,使其国际研究网络的地理分布多样化的能力。该指数还反映了这方面的效率,因为我们将合作伙伴地点的多样性与实现这种多样性所需的努力进行对比。你可以在这里找到关于这个指标的更多细节。

权重

由于不同学科的研究文化和发表率差异很大,QS按学科世界大学排名对每个学科的上述指标采用不同的权重。例如,在发表率很高的医学领域,研究引文和h指数占每所大学总分的25%。另一方面,在历史等发表率很低的领域,这些与研究相关的指标只占总排名分数的15%。同时,对于艺术和设计等学科,所发布的论文很少因而不具有统计学意义,排名仅基于雇主和学术调查。

更多详情见QS智库网站。 

本文首发于 2017 February , 更新于 2022 June 。

作者:

As editor of TopUniversities.com, Craig oversees the site's editorial content and network of student contributors. He also plays a key editorial role in the publication of several guides and reports, including the QS Top Grad School Guide.

137 shares

最新文章

被分享最多的文章

被阅读最多的文章

QS China