Top Universities for Politics in 2021

By H. Young

Updated March 8, 2021 Updated March 08

The recently released QS World University Rankings by Subject 2021 features 203 of the top higher education institutions to study politics and international relations around the world.

The QS University Rankings by Subject are based on four indicators: academic reputation, employer reputation, research citations per paper and the H-index (a way of measuring the productivity and published work of a scientist or scholar). You can find more details about the methodology behind the subject rankings here.

Read on to learn more about the best politics schools in each region. Alternatively, if you would like to explore the politics schools in further detail, click here to view the full table.

Top 10 Universities for Politics in the World

Based on the QS World University Rankings by Subject 2021

Rank

Name of Institution

Location

1

Harvard University

United States

2

Sciences Po Paris

 

France

3

University of Oxford

United Kingdom

4

Princeton University

United States

5

London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE)

United Kingdom

6

University of Cambridge

United Kingdom

7

Stanford University

United States

8

Yale University

United States

9

Australian National University (ANU)

Australia

=10

National University of Singapore (NUS)

 

Singapore

=10

University of California, Berkeley (UCB)

 

United States

See the full ranking for politics schools here >

Top universities for politics in the US and Canada

The United States is home to 44 of the 200 universities featured in this year’s politics rankings with Canada claiming seven.

Harvard University bags the top spot for the best politics school in the world for the sixth consecutive year. It earns perfect scores several indicators including the H-index, which measures the productivity and impact of the work produced by scholars at the school.

The US is also home to the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT,14th) which scores exceptionally well in the employer reputation indicator, despite dropping five places this year in the index. A number of prestigious internship opportunities are open to MIT politics undergraduates, including the MIT Washington DC Summer Internship program. These internships provide opportunities for students to network with government executives and leaders and gain first-hand experience of political and policy activity.

Canada’s highest ranked politics program is found at the University of Toronto (27th) which earns a strong score in the H-index this year. The University of Toronto’s faculty frequently publishes high quality research used by academics around the world. Several faculty members have won Governor-General’s awards (a prestigious Canadian book award), and many are Fellows of the Royal Society of Canada.

Other noteworthy Canadian universities include McGill University (36th), University of British Columbia (43rd ) and Université de Montréal (51-100).

Top universities for politics in Europe

Europe has an impressive total of 90 politics programs featuring in the subject rankings this year, including 15 in the global top 50.

The United Kingdom is home to 27 of these universities, with four politics programs in the top 20 this year. The University of Oxford’s politics program ranks first in the UK for another year running.

Another notable UK university is SOAS - School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London, ranking in 21st place this year. The school earns a particularly high score in the academic reputation indicator and is widely regarded for its critical approach to the study of international politics of the Global South. The University of Essex has largest change in the UK this year, falling 19 places to joint 48th.

Sciences Po Paris takes the title of the best continental European university to study politics. In second place globally, it earns a perfect score for academic reputation. Sciences Po Paris’ politics programs aim to bridge the gap between theory and practice and students are taught by some of the world’s best academics and global leaders. France has three other politics programs in the index in 2021, including Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne which also places in the top 100.

Eight of Europe’s politics programs are located in Germany, whose top politics school this year is Freie Universität Berlin in 20th place. Denmark’s three featured universities include University of Copenhagen in joint 33rd place. Meanwhile Ireland and Belgium each have two universities featured in this year’s politics subject rankings.

Switzerland and Spain each boast six universities in this year’s rankings. Switzerland’s ETH Zurich (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology) performs particularly well in 37th. It earns a high score in the research citations indicator, with its politics department issuing around 500 publications every year.

Also counting six universities in the index this year are Netherlands and Italy. These include the Netherlands’ Leiden University (22nd) and University of Amsterdam (26th). Italy’s European University Institute and Luiss Guido Carli University both place in the top 50 for politics, ranking 40th and joint 48th respectively.

Russia and Sweden each have four politics programs in the rankings this year, including Russia’s Moscow State Institute of International Relations (MGIMO, 41st). MGIMO earns a high score for employer reputation this year, with many of its politics graduates finding work in government and international organizations and several going on to work in the Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

PolandNorwayHungaryFinlandEstoniaCzech Republic and Austria each only have a single entry in the politics subject rankings this year. Of these seven locations, Hungary performs the best, with Central European University ranking 25th worldwide for its politics program.

Top universities for politics in Australia and New Zealand

Australia is home to nine top universities offering politics courses. Three of these are in the worldwide top 50, including Australian National University (ANU, 9th) which earns a near-perfect score for academic reputation this year. ANU’s politics students enjoy the program’s wide-ranging curriculum with options to specialize in different areas of politics, from human rights and globalization to European and Latin American studies.

Other notable Australian universities include the University of Sydney (44th, falling 20 places this year) and the University of Melbourne (joint 46th).

New Zealand has four politics universities in this year’s subject rankings, with Victoria University of Wellington placing in the worldwide top 100. The university teaches students about politics both in the past and the contemporary world, with a broad curriculum taught by world-leading scholars.

The University of Auckland also places in the global top 100 for politics this year.

Top universities for politics in Asia

There are 30 Asian politics universities in the index this year.

Asia’s highest ranked school is the National University of Singapore (NUS, 10th) which earns a high score for the employer reputation indicator. The diversity of NUS’ politics courses means its graduates have gone into a wide range of careers in many sectors, including government, business, teaching and the foreign service. Also located in Singapore is Nanyang Technological University (NTU) ranking 31st.

Mainland ChinaJapan and South Korea each have six politics universities in this year’s rankings. Mainland China has three schools in the top 50, including its top ranking Tsinghua University (joint 33rd).

Japan’s University of Tokyo (joint 29th) earns a particularly strong score in the employer reputation indicator. Politics students can benefit from the University of Tokyo’s connections within Japan’s academic, political and governmental circles, as well as its political research in Japan and Asia.

IndiaIndonesiaMalaysia, the Philippines and Thailand each have a single entrant in the rankings this year. India’s Jawaharlal Nehru University (101-150) scores well for academic reputation, having one of the largest and most prestigious politics departments in the country.

Taiwan’s two entrants include National Taiwan University (NTU, 51-100) and South Korea’s Seoul National University (SNU) ranks joint 46th.

The University of Hong Kong (HKU, joint 29th) ranks amongst Hong Kong’s three entries in the politics school index this year. The university has been teaching political science since 1915 and has contributed to advancements in its field both locally and internationally through its research and teaching.

Top universities for politics in Latin America  

There are 15 top politics programs offered in Latin America in 2021. Brazil and Colombia each boast four universities in this year’s rankings, with Brazil’s Universidade de São Paulo (USP) the highest ranked university for politics in Latin America, ranking 50th.

Chile has two politics universities in the index, including Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile which ranks in the top 100 and earns a high score for employer reputation.

Mexico has two new entries this year for politics: Tecnológico de Monterrey (ITESM, 101-150), which scores well for employer reputation this year, and Instituto Tecnológico Autonomo de México (ITAM) ranking at 151-200.

Top universities for politics in Africa and the Middle East

Africa’s sole entrant for politics this year is University of Cape Town in South Africa ranking 151-200. The University of Cape Town’s research is widely respected has been frequently published both in scholarly and research journals.

Over in the Middle East, Lebanon and Israel each have a single entry in the politics schools ranking this year.

This article was originally published in March 2021 .

Written by

Related Articles

Most Shared

Most Read

English

2021年政治学专业排名靠前的大学

By H. Young

更新日期 March 8, 2021 更新日期 March 08

最近发布的2021年QS世界大学学科排名收录了全球203所学习政治和国际关系的顶级高等教育机构。

QS大学学科排名基于四个指标:学术声誉、雇主声誉、每篇论文的研究引用率和H指数(衡量科学家或学者的产率和发表作品的一种方式)。你可以在这里找到关于学科排名背后的方法论的更多细节。

继续阅读,了解每个地区最好的政治学院。或者,如果您想进一步详细了解政治学院,请点击这里查看完整表格。

 

世界政治学专业排名前十的大学

基于2021年QS世界大学学科排名

Rank

排名

Name of Institution

院校名称

Location

地点

1

Harvard University

United States

2

Sciences Po Paris

 

France

3

University of Oxford

United Kingdom

4

Princeton University

United States

5

London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE)

United Kingdom

6

University of Cambridge

United Kingdom

7

Stanford University

United States

8

Yale University

United States

9

Australian National University (ANU)

Australia

=10

National University of Singapore (NUS)

 

Singapore

=10

University of California, Berkeley (UCB)

 

United States

这里查看政治学院的完整排名

美国和加拿大政治专业排名靠前的大学

在今年的200所大学政治排名中,美国有44所大学入选,加拿大有7所。

哈佛大学连续第六年包揽全球最佳政治学校的头名,它在多项指标上都获得了满分,其中包括衡量产率和工作影响力的H-index。

说到美国,不可小觑的还有麻省理工学院(MIT,第14位),尽管今年该指数下降了5位,但在雇主声誉指标上得分特别高。麻省理工学院政治专业的本科生可以获得许多著名的实习机会,包括麻省理工学院华盛顿特区暑期实习项目。这些实习机会为学生提供了与政府高管和领导交流的机会,并获得了政治和政策活动的第一手经验。

加拿大政治专业排名最高的是多伦多大学(第27位),该校今年在H-index中获得了很高的分数。多伦多大学的教师经常发表高质量的研究报告,被世界各地的院校采用。有几位教师获得了总督奖(加拿大著名的图书奖),很多人是加拿大皇家学会的研究员。

其他值得一提的加拿大大学包括麦吉尔大学(第36名)、不列颠哥伦比亚大学(第43名)和蒙特利尔大学(第51-100名)。

欧洲政治学专业排名靠前的大学

欧洲今年共有90个政治学项目进入学科排名,其中15个进入全球前50名。

英国是其中27所大学的所在地,今年有4个政治专业进入前20名。牛津大学的政治课程连续一年在英国排名第一。

另一所值得关注的英国大学是SOAS--伦敦大学东方和非洲研究学院,今年排名第21位。该校在学术声誉指标中获得了特别高的分数,并因其对南半球国际政治研究的批判性方法而广受好评。埃塞克斯大学今年在英国变化最大,下降19位,并列第48位。

巴黎科学坡大学夺得欧洲大陆研究政治的最佳大学称号。在全球排名第二,在学术声誉上获得满分。巴黎科学坡大学的政治项目旨在弥合理论与实践之间的差距,学生由世界上最优秀的学者和全球领导者执教。法国在2021年排名中还有三个政治学项目入选,其中巴黎第一大学潘提翁-索邦大学也位列前100名。

欧洲的政治学项目中有8个位于德国,其今年德国排名最高的政治学院是柏林自由大学,排在第20位。丹麦的三所特色大学包括哥本哈根大学,并列排名第33位。同时爱尔兰比利时各有两所大学在今年的政治学科排名中出现。

瑞士西班牙各有6所大学进入今年的排名。瑞士的苏黎世联邦理工学院(ETH Zurich)表现尤为出色,排名第37位。它在研究引用率指标上获得了很高的分数,其政治系每年发表约500篇论文。

今年在荷兰意大利,有6所大学也被列入该指数。其中包括荷兰的莱顿大学(22位)和阿姆斯特丹大学(26位)。意大利欧洲大学研究所Luiss Guido Carli大学都进入了政治学的前50名,分别排名第40位和并列第48位。

俄罗斯瑞典今年各有4个政治学项目进入排名,其中俄罗斯的莫斯科国立国际关系学院(MGIMO,第41名)。MGIMO今年在雇主声誉方面获得高分,许多政治专业毕业生在政府和国际组织中找到了工作,有几位毕业生进入俄罗斯外交部工作。

波兰挪威匈牙利芬兰爱沙尼亚捷克奥地利今年在政治学科排名中各只有一所。在这七地中,匈牙利表现最好,中欧大学的政治学项目全球排名第25位。

澳大利亚和新西兰政治学专业排名靠前的大学

澳大利亚有9所提供政治学科的顶尖大学。其中有三所进入全球前50名,包括澳大利亚国立大学(ANU,第9名),该校今年在学术声誉方面获得了近乎满分的成绩。ANU的政治专业学生喜欢该专业广泛的课程设置,可以选择专攻不同的政治领域,从人权和全球化到欧洲和拉丁美洲研究。

其他著名的澳大利亚大学包括悉尼大学(第44名,今年下降了20名)和墨尔本大学(并列第46名)。

新西兰有四所政治大学进入今年的学科排名,惠灵顿维多利亚大学位列全球前100名。该大学向学生传授过去和当代世界的政治知识,课程设置广泛,由世界顶尖学者授课。

奥克兰大学的政治专业今年也位列全球前100名。

亚洲政治专业排名靠前的大学

今年有30所亚洲政治大学入选。

亚洲排名最高的学校是新加坡国立大学(NUS,第10名),该校在雇主声誉指标上获得了高分。新加坡国立大学政治课程的多样性意味着其毕业生在政府、商业、教学和外交服务等多个领域都有广泛的职业发展。同样位于新加坡南洋理工大学(NTU)排名第31位。

在今年的排名中,中国大陆有6所政治大学入选,有三所学校进入前50名,包括其排名最高的清华大学(并列第33名)。

香港大学(港大,并列第29位)是今年香港地区三所入选政治学科排名的大学之一。该校自1915年开始教授政治学,并通过其研究和教学,为本地和国际政治学领域的进步做出了贡献。台湾地区有两所入选大学,其中包括国立台湾大学(NTU,51-100)

日本韩国各有6所政治大学入选。

日本东京大学(并列第29位)在雇主声誉指标中获得特别高的分数。政治学专业的学生可以从东京大学在日本学术界、政治界和政府界的联系,以及在日本和亚洲的政治研究中获益。韩国首尔国立大学(SNU)并列排名第46位。

印度印度尼西亚马来西亚菲律宾泰国今年各有一所入选。印度的贾瓦哈拉尔-尼赫鲁大学(101-150)在学术声誉方面得分不俗,拥有全国最大、最著名的政治系之一。

拉美政治学专业排名靠前的大学

2021年拉美地区提供15个顶级政治项目。巴西哥伦比亚在今年的排名中各拥有四所大学,巴西的圣保罗大学(USP)是拉丁美洲政治专业排名最高的大学,排名第50位。

智利有两所政治类大学入选,其中智利天主教大学(Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile)位列前100名,并在雇主声誉方面获得高分。

墨西哥今年有两所新进入的政治类大学:蒙特雷理工大学(ITESM,101-150),今年在雇主声誉方面获得了很高的分数,墨西哥自治技术学院(ITAM)排名151-200。

非洲和中东地区政治学专业排名靠前的大学

非洲今年唯一入选政治学专业的是南非开普敦大学,排名151-200。开普敦大学的研究受到广泛尊重,经常在学术和研究期刊上发表。

在中东地区,黎巴嫩以色列今年各有一所政治类学院入选排名。

本文首发于 2021 March ,

作者:

最新文章

被分享最多的文章

被阅读最多的文章

QS China