University of Liverpool

Liverpool, Liverpool

  • #=165 QS Global World Ranking
  • Very HighResearch Output
  • 26,793Total Students
  • 2,775Faculty
  • 8,719Int'l Students

About

Read more
Read less

The University of Liverpool is a remarkable place, combining academic excellence with the attributes of our famous home maritime city: a spirit of creativity, welcoming to all, and committed to social responsibility.

Established in 1881, we are the original ‘redbrick’ university – a phrase inspired by our distinctive redbrick Victoria Building. This spirit of originality shapes everything we do; ideas are born here that transform industries and travel the globe, touching and improving millions of lives as they go.

Our founding mission - ‘for the advancement of learning and ennoblement of life’ reflects our belief in the transformative power of research and education. And our Gold rating in the Teaching Excellence Framework highlights our commitment to world-class teaching and learning. Employability is embedded throughout our programmes, and our graduates enjoy high employability rates.

With over 30,000 students and 280,000 alumni across over 170 countries, our diverse, multicultural community makes us a home for all kinds of ambitions and all kinds of achievements. Alumni include nine Nobel prize winners, the first female poet laureate and the first female Director General of MI5, alongside those who have led the way in fields from nuclear disarmament to the life cycle of malarial parasites.

Today we have hundreds of international research collaborations. spanning diverse subject matter across our three faculties – Health and Life Sciences, Humanities and Social Sciences, and Science and Engineering. Through interdisciplinary research we are driving breakthroughs in developing new materials with large-scale applications in both industry and consumer products, enhancing the personalisation of health management, and progressing the battle against infectious diseases. In addition, we are cultivating a deeper understanding of the past and helping to create a more prosperous, fair and healthier world for everyone.

Our main campus sits at the top of Brownlow Hill, just a ten-minute walk from Liverpool’s vibrant city centre and at the heart of the Knowledge Quarter. The University helps drive the city’s knowledge economy through close collaboration with fellow universities, industry and the NHS, helping the Liverpool City Region compete in the global business world. 


Our Materials Innovation Factory draws together world-leading research and technologies to provide a stimulating environment for the exchange of ideas to accelerate the delivery of real world solutions.

Our digital research is enabling the transformation of society and industry through the generation, communication and application of data. Opened in 2022, the Digital Innovation Facility brings together leading scientists and engineers to deliver high impact industrial innovation.
 

Like Liverpool itself, we march to the beat of our own drum. And we encourage our students and staff to do the same. Leading by example, we foster creativity, independence and courage. We open our doors wide, and make sure everyone can express their true character here, whoever they are and wherever they come from. Because when they do, they make our learning environment richer, and our whole University stronger.

Find out more about life at the University of Liverpool via its social media channels, including X/Twitter, Linkedin, Instagram, Facebook and YouTube.

The city of Liverpool is such an important part of all of our students' time at Liverpool, and our campus is conveniently located just 10 minutes walk from the city centre. Liverpool offers a famously friendly welcome (we were voted 4th friendliest city in the world by Rough Guides), and with a vibrant cultural and social offering, plenty of green spaces and fresh air, a fantastic array of restaurants and nightlife, and plenty of both independent and big name shopping choice, it's not surprising we we also voted 7th best city in the world by Time Out in 2023. We have more galleries and museums than any UK city outside of London, and the city is a multicultural and outward looking place to be. It's also conveniently located, within easy access of Liverpool and Manchester airports, close to the beautiful countryside of the Lake District, North Wales and Peak District, and all just over 2 hours by train from London.

Culture is a big part of the city of Liverpool, but it's also a big deal on campus, with the Tung Auditorium in the Yoko Ono Lennon Centre hosting a varied programme of musical events throughout the year, many of which are free, and our very own Victoria Gallery and Museum, housed in the iconic redbrick Victoria Building.
Our on-campus Sport and Fitness Centre offers a 25 metre swimming pool, sports halls, squash courts, dance and spinning studios, bouldering wall and brand new climbing wall, gym  with specialist strength and conditioning facilities) and weight training area. Organised group exercise classes to suit all levels of ability, with personal training sessions available. There is also a gym and sports facilities at Greenbank Student Village. Sports pitches and training facilities are located at our Wyncote Sports Ground, approximately 3 miles from campus. Getting  active is a lifestyle at Liverpool and there's plenty to do for free on campus too, with a running track, a container gym, and a half basketball court.
Located in the heart of campus, our Guild of Students (Liverpool's name for the Students' Union), is home to over 200 societies, provides advice and guidance on a wide range of topics, and enables students to get involved in volunteering projects across the city - or just to try something new. It's a place to relax between lectures and meet friends, and to enjoy a varied programme of evening entertainment including some big name music acts. It's also a place to have your voice heard. Led by a team of student officers - elected by a campus-wide vote - the Guild acts as an independent voice that speaks up for the things that matter the most to our students. 

See our undergraduate and postgraduate webpages for information on applying to Liverpool.

Employability is embedded throughout our students' experience, in the curriculum they study, and in the extra-curricular activities and events open to them. Liverpool is also home the UK’s first Career Studio; a welcoming campus space where student Career Coaches help students explore their options and take the next step. There is focused support to help students get the skills employers want through cocurricular and extra-curricular activities, local and global enterprise challenges, and employability enhancing in-curricular experiences. The platform "Handshake" advertises opportunities to all students, and our "International Plus" careers offer ensures tailored careers advice and support for international students.
 

About

The University of Liverpool is a remarkable place, combining academic excellence with the attributes of our famous home maritime city: a spirit of creativity, welcoming to all, and committed to social responsibility.

Established in 1881, we are the original ‘redbrick’ university – a phrase inspired by our distinctive redbrick Victoria Building. This spirit of originality shapes everything we do; ideas are born here that transform industries and travel the globe, touching and improving millions of lives as they go.

Our founding mission - ‘for the advancement of learning and ennoblement of life’ reflects our belief in the transformative power of research and education. And our Gold rating in the Teaching Excellence Framework highlights our commitment to world-class teaching and learning. Employability is embedded throughout our programmes, and our graduates enjoy high employability rates.

With over 30,000 students and 280,000 alumni across over 170 countries, our diverse, multicultural community makes us a home for all kinds of ambitions and all kinds of achievements. Alumni include nine Nobel prize winners, the first female poet laureate and the first female Director General of MI5, alongside those who have led the way in fields from nuclear disarmament to the life cycle of malarial parasites.

Today we have hundreds of international research collaborations. spanning diverse subject matter across our three faculties – Health and Life Sciences, Humanities and Social Sciences, and Science and Engineering. Through interdisciplinary research we are driving breakthroughs in developing new materials with large-scale applications in both industry and consumer products, enhancing the personalisation of health management, and progressing the battle against infectious diseases. In addition, we are cultivating a deeper understanding of the past and helping to create a more prosperous, fair and healthier world for everyone.

Our main campus sits at the top of Brownlow Hill, just a ten-minute walk from Liverpool’s vibrant city centre and at the heart of the Knowledge Quarter. The University helps drive the city’s knowledge economy through close collaboration with fellow universities, industry and the NHS, helping the Liverpool City Region compete in the global business world. 


Our Materials Innovation Factory draws together world-leading research and technologies to provide a stimulating environment for the exchange of ideas to accelerate the delivery of real world solutions.

Our digital research is enabling the transformation of society and industry through the generation, communication and application of data. Opened in 2022, the Digital Innovation Facility brings together leading scientists and engineers to deliver high impact industrial innovation.
 

Like Liverpool itself, we march to the beat of our own drum. And we encourage our students and staff to do the same. Leading by example, we foster creativity, independence and courage. We open our doors wide, and make sure everyone can express their true character here, whoever they are and wherever they come from. Because when they do, they make our learning environment richer, and our whole University stronger.

Find out more about life at the University of Liverpool via its social media channels, including X/Twitter, Linkedin, Instagram, Facebook and YouTube.

The city of Liverpool is such an important part of all of our students' time at Liverpool, and our campus is conveniently located just 10 minutes walk from the city centre. Liverpool offers a famously friendly welcome (we were voted 4th friendliest city in the world by Rough Guides), and with a vibrant cultural and social offering, plenty of green spaces and fresh air, a fantastic array of restaurants and nightlife, and plenty of both independent and big name shopping choice, it's not surprising we we also voted 7th best city in the world by Time Out in 2023. We have more galleries and museums than any UK city outside of London, and the city is a multicultural and outward looking place to be. It's also conveniently located, within easy access of Liverpool and Manchester airports, close to the beautiful countryside of the Lake District, North Wales and Peak District, and all just over 2 hours by train from London.

Culture is a big part of the city of Liverpool, but it's also a big deal on campus, with the Tung Auditorium in the Yoko Ono Lennon Centre hosting a varied programme of musical events throughout the year, many of which are free, and our very own Victoria Gallery and Museum, housed in the iconic redbrick Victoria Building.
Our on-campus Sport and Fitness Centre offers a 25 metre swimming pool, sports halls, squash courts, dance and spinning studios, bouldering wall and brand new climbing wall, gym  with specialist strength and conditioning facilities) and weight training area. Organised group exercise classes to suit all levels of ability, with personal training sessions available. There is also a gym and sports facilities at Greenbank Student Village. Sports pitches and training facilities are located at our Wyncote Sports Ground, approximately 3 miles from campus. Getting  active is a lifestyle at Liverpool and there's plenty to do for free on campus too, with a running track, a container gym, and a half basketball court.
Located in the heart of campus, our Guild of Students (Liverpool's name for the Students' Union), is home to over 200 societies, provides advice and guidance on a wide range of topics, and enables students to get involved in volunteering projects across the city - or just to try something new. It's a place to relax between lectures and meet friends, and to enjoy a varied programme of evening entertainment including some big name music acts. It's also a place to have your voice heard. Led by a team of student officers - elected by a campus-wide vote - the Guild acts as an independent voice that speaks up for the things that matter the most to our students. 

See our undergraduate and postgraduate webpages for information on applying to Liverpool.

Employability is embedded throughout our students' experience, in the curriculum they study, and in the extra-curricular activities and events open to them. Liverpool is also home the UK’s first Career Studio; a welcoming campus space where student Career Coaches help students explore their options and take the next step. There is focused support to help students get the skills employers want through cocurricular and extra-curricular activities, local and global enterprise challenges, and employability enhancing in-curricular experiences. The platform "Handshake" advertises opportunities to all students, and our "International Plus" careers offer ensures tailored careers advice and support for international students.
 

Available programs

University highlights

QS World University Ranking

  • 2012
    #124
  • 2014
    #=130
  • 2015
    #=123
  • 2016
    #151
  • 2017
    #157
  • 2018
    #=173
  • 2019
    #164
  • 2020
    #181
  • 2021
    #=181
  • 2022
    #=189
  • 2023
    #=190
  • 2024
    #=176
  • 2025
    #=165

Student & Staff

Total students
26,793

19%
81%

International students
8,719

38%
62%

Total faculty staff
2,775

959
1816

Total students
26,793

19%
81%

International students
8,719

38%
62%

Total faculty staff
2,775

1816
959
QS Stars is a rating system that helps you select the right university based on your interests. It provides a detailed look at an institution, identifying which universities rate highest in the specific topics that matter to you, like facilities, graduate employability, social responsibility, inclusiveness, and more.

Scholarships

Yes
The Scholarships above offer some form of financial aid to prospective students. Please always check the specific requirements and restrictions on scholarship availability.

Campus locations

Liverpool, Liverpool, GB,

Liverpool , Liverpool , United Kingdom , L69 7ZX

City Centre Campus,

Liverpool, United Kingdom , Liverpool , United Kingdom ,

+ 1 More Locations
University of Liverpool advanced Very High 10 yes 8719 L EN

利物浦大学

Liverpool, Liverpool

  • #=165 QS全球排名
  • Very High研究成果
  • 26,793学生人数
  • 2,775教员人数
  • 8,719国际学生人数

About

Read more
Read less

利物浦大学不仅学术卓越,更融合了我们著名的海港城市的独特风貌:创新精神、开放包容、致力于社会责任。

自1881年成立以来,作为原创的‘红砖’大学,我们由标志性的红砖维多利亚建筑而得名。这种创新精神是我们一切行动的核心;在这里诞生的思想不仅改变了行业,还飞越大洋,触及并且改善了无数人的生活。

我们的创立宗旨——‘促进学习和提升生活品质’,体现了我们对于研究和教育变革力量的坚信。我们在教学卓越框架中获得的金牌评价,凸显了我们对于提供世界级教学和学习体验的承诺。我们的课程中融入了职业发展规划,毕业生的就业率也非常高。

我们拥有逾30,000名在校学生和280,000名来自170多个国家的校友。多元化、跨文化的社群构成了我们大家庭的特色。我们的校友中包括9位诺贝尔奖得主、首位女性桂冠诗人、以及首位女性MI5局长,他们在从核裁军到疟疾寄生虫生命周期等领域中引领风骚。

目前,我们开展了数百项国际研究合作,涵盖健康与生命科学、人文与社会科学、科学与工程三大学院的多个学科领域。通过跨学科的研究,我们在新材料开发上取得了重大突破,这些材料在工业和消费品中有着广泛的应用;我们也在提升健康管理个性化方面取得进展,并在对抗传染病的战斗中不断进步。此外,我们也在深化对过去的理解,并致力于创造一个更加繁荣、公平、健康的未来。

我们的主校区位于布朗洛希尔之巅,距离充满活力的利物浦市中心仅十分钟步行距离,处于知识区的心脏地带。通过与其他大学、工业界和NHS的紧密合作,大学促进了城市的知识经济发展,帮助利物浦城市地区在全球商业竞争中脱颖而出。 


我们的材料创新工厂集合了世界级的研究和技术力量,提供了一个充满活力的环境,促进了思想的交流,加速了面向实际应用解决方案的开发。

我们的数字化研究正通过数据的生成、传播和应用,推动社会和产业的变革。2022年开幕的数字创新中心汇集了顶尖的科学家和工程师,致力于实现具有重大影响力的工业创新。
 

正如利物浦本身,我们以独特的节奏前进。我们鼓励学生和员工保持这种精神。通过以身作则,我们培育了创造力、独立性和勇气。我们广开门户,确保每个人都能在这里自由地展现自己,无论他们来自何方。因为当他们能够这样做时,他们让我们的学习环境变得更加丰富,整个大学更加强大。

想要了解更多关于利物浦大学的生活,欢迎通过其社交媒体渠道,包括X/TwitterLinkedinInstagramFacebookYouTube

利物浦市是我们所有学生生活中极为重要的一部分,而我们的校园地理位置优越,仅需步行10分钟便可到达市中心。利物浦以其著名的热情好客(被《粗略指南》评为世界第四友好城市)而闻名,加之其活跃的文化社交氛围、众多绿地和清新空气、琳琅满目的餐饮及夜生活选择、以及既有独立品牌又有大牌商家的丰富购物选择,因此毫不奇怪地被《时代杂志》评为2023年全球第七佳城市。我们的画廊和博物馆数量在英国所有城市中仅次于伦敦,这座城市是一个充满多元文化并拥有开放视野的地方。它地理位置优越,便捷连接利物浦和曼彻斯特机场,临近湖区、北威尔士和皮克区的秀美乡村,而且乘火车至伦敦仅需2小时略多。

文化不仅是利物浦城市的核心部分,同样也是校园生活的重要组成。在小野洋子列侬中心的东堂礼堂全年举办多样化的音乐活动,其中许多活动免费向公众开放,我们自己的维多利亚画廊与博物馆则坐落在具有标志性的维多利亚红砖建筑内。
我们的校内体育健身中心拥有25米长的游泳池、多功能体育馆、壁球场、舞蹈和自行车旋转室、攀岩墙及全新的登山墙、健身房(配备专业的力量训练和体能训练设施)及举重区。我们提供适合各种能力级别的团体健身课程,并提供私人训练服务。格林班克学生村还设有健身房和体育设施。运动场和训练设施位于距离校园约3英里的温科特运动场。在利物浦,保持活跃是生活方式的一部分,校园里还有很多免费的活动设施,包括跑道、集装箱健身房和半个篮球场。
位于校园中心的学生会(利物浦对学生联合会的称谓),是超过200个社团的所在地,提供各种主题的咨询和指导,帮助学生参与城市各处的志愿服务项目——或者仅仅是尝试新事物。它是课间休息和会友的理想场所,并提供多样化的夜间娱乐活动,包括一些知名音乐演出。这里也是让你的声音得以传达的平台。由全校投票选出的学生官员团队领导下的学生会,作为一个独立的声音,代表学生们最关心的议题发声。

请访问我们的本科研究生专页,获取有关申请利物浦大学的详细信息。

我们为学生提供的教育经历中,就业能力的培养贯穿始终,这不仅体现在他们所学习的课程内容中,也体现在他们可以参与的各种课外活动和事件中。利物浦还是英国第一个职业发展工作室的所在地;这是一个温馨的校园空间,在这里,学生职业指导教练帮助学生探索个人职业路径并采取行动迈向成功。我们提供有针对性的支持,通过课程内外的活动、本地及全球企业挑战赛以及增进就业能力的课程体验,帮助学生掌握雇主所需的技能。“Handshake”平台为所有学生提供职业机会,而我们的“国际加值”职业服务确保为国际学生提供定制化的职业咨询和支援。
 

About

利物浦大学不仅学术卓越,更融合了我们著名的海港城市的独特风貌:创新精神、开放包容、致力于社会责任。

自1881年成立以来,作为原创的‘红砖’大学,我们由标志性的红砖维多利亚建筑而得名。这种创新精神是我们一切行动的核心;在这里诞生的思想不仅改变了行业,还飞越大洋,触及并且改善了无数人的生活。

我们的创立宗旨——‘促进学习和提升生活品质’,体现了我们对于研究和教育变革力量的坚信。我们在教学卓越框架中获得的金牌评价,凸显了我们对于提供世界级教学和学习体验的承诺。我们的课程中融入了职业发展规划,毕业生的就业率也非常高。

我们拥有逾30,000名在校学生和280,000名来自170多个国家的校友。多元化、跨文化的社群构成了我们大家庭的特色。我们的校友中包括9位诺贝尔奖得主、首位女性桂冠诗人、以及首位女性MI5局长,他们在从核裁军到疟疾寄生虫生命周期等领域中引领风骚。

目前,我们开展了数百项国际研究合作,涵盖健康与生命科学、人文与社会科学、科学与工程三大学院的多个学科领域。通过跨学科的研究,我们在新材料开发上取得了重大突破,这些材料在工业和消费品中有着广泛的应用;我们也在提升健康管理个性化方面取得进展,并在对抗传染病的战斗中不断进步。此外,我们也在深化对过去的理解,并致力于创造一个更加繁荣、公平、健康的未来。

我们的主校区位于布朗洛希尔之巅,距离充满活力的利物浦市中心仅十分钟步行距离,处于知识区的心脏地带。通过与其他大学、工业界和NHS的紧密合作,大学促进了城市的知识经济发展,帮助利物浦城市地区在全球商业竞争中脱颖而出。 


我们的材料创新工厂集合了世界级的研究和技术力量,提供了一个充满活力的环境,促进了思想的交流,加速了面向实际应用解决方案的开发。

我们的数字化研究正通过数据的生成、传播和应用,推动社会和产业的变革。2022年开幕的数字创新中心汇集了顶尖的科学家和工程师,致力于实现具有重大影响力的工业创新。
 

正如利物浦本身,我们以独特的节奏前进。我们鼓励学生和员工保持这种精神。通过以身作则,我们培育了创造力、独立性和勇气。我们广开门户,确保每个人都能在这里自由地展现自己,无论他们来自何方。因为当他们能够这样做时,他们让我们的学习环境变得更加丰富,整个大学更加强大。

想要了解更多关于利物浦大学的生活,欢迎通过其社交媒体渠道,包括X/TwitterLinkedinInstagramFacebookYouTube

利物浦市是我们所有学生生活中极为重要的一部分,而我们的校园地理位置优越,仅需步行10分钟便可到达市中心。利物浦以其著名的热情好客(被《粗略指南》评为世界第四友好城市)而闻名,加之其活跃的文化社交氛围、众多绿地和清新空气、琳琅满目的餐饮及夜生活选择、以及既有独立品牌又有大牌商家的丰富购物选择,因此毫不奇怪地被《时代杂志》评为2023年全球第七佳城市。我们的画廊和博物馆数量在英国所有城市中仅次于伦敦,这座城市是一个充满多元文化并拥有开放视野的地方。它地理位置优越,便捷连接利物浦和曼彻斯特机场,临近湖区、北威尔士和皮克区的秀美乡村,而且乘火车至伦敦仅需2小时略多。

文化不仅是利物浦城市的核心部分,同样也是校园生活的重要组成。在小野洋子列侬中心的东堂礼堂全年举办多样化的音乐活动,其中许多活动免费向公众开放,我们自己的维多利亚画廊与博物馆则坐落在具有标志性的维多利亚红砖建筑内。
我们的校内体育健身中心拥有25米长的游泳池、多功能体育馆、壁球场、舞蹈和自行车旋转室、攀岩墙及全新的登山墙、健身房(配备专业的力量训练和体能训练设施)及举重区。我们提供适合各种能力级别的团体健身课程,并提供私人训练服务。格林班克学生村还设有健身房和体育设施。运动场和训练设施位于距离校园约3英里的温科特运动场。在利物浦,保持活跃是生活方式的一部分,校园里还有很多免费的活动设施,包括跑道、集装箱健身房和半个篮球场。
位于校园中心的学生会(利物浦对学生联合会的称谓),是超过200个社团的所在地,提供各种主题的咨询和指导,帮助学生参与城市各处的志愿服务项目——或者仅仅是尝试新事物。它是课间休息和会友的理想场所,并提供多样化的夜间娱乐活动,包括一些知名音乐演出。这里也是让你的声音得以传达的平台。由全校投票选出的学生官员团队领导下的学生会,作为一个独立的声音,代表学生们最关心的议题发声。

请访问我们的本科研究生专页,获取有关申请利物浦大学的详细信息。

我们为学生提供的教育经历中,就业能力的培养贯穿始终,这不仅体现在他们所学习的课程内容中,也体现在他们可以参与的各种课外活动和事件中。利物浦还是英国第一个职业发展工作室的所在地;这是一个温馨的校园空间,在这里,学生职业指导教练帮助学生探索个人职业路径并采取行动迈向成功。我们提供有针对性的支持,通过课程内外的活动、本地及全球企业挑战赛以及增进就业能力的课程体验,帮助学生掌握雇主所需的技能。“Handshake”平台为所有学生提供职业机会,而我们的“国际加值”职业服务确保为国际学生提供定制化的职业咨询和支援。
 

Available programs

University highlights

QS World University Ranking

  • 2012
    #124
  • 2014
    #=130
  • 2015
    #=123
  • 2016
    #151
  • 2017
    #157
  • 2018
    #=173
  • 2019
    #164
  • 2020
    #181
  • 2021
    #=181
  • 2022
    #=189
  • 2023
    #=190
  • 2024
    #=176
  • 2025
    #=165

Student & Staff

Total students
26,793

19%
81%

International students
8,719

38%
62%

Total faculty staff
2,775

959
1816

Total students
26,793

19%
81%

International students
8,719

38%
62%

Total faculty staff
2,775

1816
959
QS Stars is a rating system that helps you select the right university based on your interests. It provides a detailed look at an institution, identifying which universities rate highest in the specific topics that matter to you, like facilities, graduate employability, social responsibility, inclusiveness, and more.

Scholarships

Yes
The Scholarships above offer some form of financial aid to prospective students. Please always check the specific requirements and restrictions on scholarship availability.

Campus locations

Liverpool, Liverpool, GB,

Liverpool , Liverpool , United Kingdom , L69 7ZX

City Centre Campus,

Liverpool, United Kingdom , Liverpool , United Kingdom ,

+ 1 More Locations
University of Liverpool advanced Very High 10 yes 8719 L CN