Is a social entrepreneurship and innovation management master’s right for you?

By H. Young

Updated October 11, 2021 Updated October 11

Sponsored by Lingnan University

Social entrepreneurship has become a rising business trend over the last 10 years and many businesses are recognising social impact as a new driver for business growth. It’s therefore unsurprising that universities around the world are now offering degree programmes that aim to nurture the next generation of social entrepreneurs who are ready to champion social impact, innovation and purpose-driven careers.

Lingnan University, the only liberal arts university in Hong Kong, is rolling out its brand-new MA in Social Entrepreneurship and Innovation Management for anyone working in or aspiring to a career in social innovation and social impact. The programme combines theoretical and practical teaching, allowing students to gain invaluable hands-on experience and knowledge on entrepreneurial leadership and innovation management for a better society.

If you’re thinking of pursuing a master’s in social entrepreneurship and innovation management, here’s what you need to consider…

You want to make a difference

There are many social, economic and environmental issues in the world that need innovative solutions. Being a social entrepreneur or being part of a social impact organisation means you could be the one to find such solutions and bring about positive change.

Launching a successful social enterprise isn’t always an easy job. Most of the world’s most popular social impact businesses – think TOMS, Lush, Ben & Jerry’s and Terracycle – were the result of great solutions, innovative strategies and solid market interest.

So, although it is important to have a vision, it’s also important that you understand how to best use your skills and knowledge to proactively turn your idea into a profitable, sustainable long-term business venture.

You want to tap into your creative and innovative mindset

Social entrepreneurs like to think outside-of-the-box and tend to see opportunities which others may perceive to be as obstacles. The MA in Social Entrepreneurship and Innovation Management at Lingnan University lets students’ imaginations run free and put their creative, problem-solving skills to the test. And with the regular consultations and supports from subject-matter experts in the fields, turning visions into reality has never been more possible.

You want to develop key business skills

Connecting aspirational and creative ideas with business know-how is key to ensuring social impact organisations stay abreast of latest innovation and trends, and stay financially viable to succeed in the long-term.

Studying a master’s degree like the MA in Social Entrepreneurship and Innovation Management sees students delve into the most crucial fields of business and entrepreneurship management as well as new areas of social innovation that have evolved significantly in recent years. These skillsets are not just relevant to social impact organisations – they are 21st century skills that are relevant and crucial in a variety of industries to help drive innovation and change.

You want to build a strong network

Knowing the right people can lead to exciting collaborative projects, successful professional relationships, and even new job opportunities later down the line.

At Lingnan University, MA in Social Entrepreneurship and Innovation Management students can connect with esteemed local, regional and international partner organisations.

Through various community-based experiential learning experiences as well as exchange and internship opportunities, students can make a long-lasting impression on their peers and industry leaders alike and build their foundation of network partners, which is theirs to keep and grow in the many years to come.

You want to pursue a purpose-driven career

Whether you have plans for your own social start-up, or you want to be part of an already established social organisation where you drive social impact initiatives, a master’s degree in social entrepreneurship and innovation management will hone your skills in the space of social impact and innovation.

The MA in Social Entrepreneurship and Innovation Management at Lingnan University offers students professional consultations with various social and business experts as well as internship opportunities in different areas. This opens up opportunities for both working and recent graduates who want to broaden and better pave their career paths.

 

This article was originally published in October 2021 .

Written by

Related Articles

Most Shared

Most Read

English

社会企业创新创业管理文学硕士课程是否适合你?

By H. Young

更新日期 October 11, 2021 更新日期 October 11

图源岭南大学

十年来,社会企业家精神在商界的热度不断上涨,许多企业都将社会影响力视为企业发展的新动能。因此毫不意外的说,世界各地的大学都在推出相关学位课程,旨在培养新一代有意主导社会影响、创新和有理想有志向的社会企业家。

岭南大学是香港唯一一所推行博雅教育的大学,近年新设《社会企业创新创业管理文学》硕士学位(MA in Social Entrepreneurship and Innovation Management)课程,面向所有在社会创新和社会影响领域工作或有志于此的人。该课程结合理论和实践教学,帮助学生在学习构建更加美好社会所需的创业领导力和创新管理知识的同时,获得宝贵的实践经验。

决定是否攻读社会企业创新创业管理文学硕士》硕士学位时,你可能会考虑…

与众不同

要解决世界上众多社会、经济和环境问题,我们需要创新方案。如果能够成为社会企业家或加入有社会影响力的组织,那么你可能就是找到解决方案、带领社会向好发展的那个人。

社会企业的成功创业并非易事,纵观TOMS、Lush、Ben & Jerry's和Terracycle等知名企业的发展,它们无一例外地依靠明智的决策、创新的战略和稳定的市场利率而一举成名。

所以规划固然重要,但同样重要的是,你要了解如何最大限度利用技能和知识,积极主动地把想法变成获利多、可持续、能经受时间考验的商业企业。

激发创造力和创新思维

社会企业家能够打破常规,看透别人眼中的障碍,捕捉新机。岭南大学《社会企业创新创业管理文学》硕士学位课程给了学生充分发挥想象力、施展创新才能、设身处地解决问题的空间,学生还能定期咨询各领域专家,想法变现指日可待。

培养核心商业技能

将创造性执念与商业知识相结合是确保社会名企紧跟创新潮流和时代趋势、实现长期盈利的关键。

社会企业创新创业管理文学》硕士学位课程为例,学生可以通过此类课程深入研究商业和创业管理的中心领域,探索近年来发展迅速的社会创新领域。此类技能不仅符合社会名企的需求,它们还是21世纪各行各业中推动创新和变革的关键技能。

拓宽人脉

结识行业相关人员让你有机会开展绝佳合作、建立成功的职业关系,甚至为你日后工作带来新机。

岭南大学的《社会企业创新创业管理文学》硕士学生可以与本地、区域间及国际上声名显赫的伙伴组织建立联系。

通过参与社区式体验学习,充分利用交流实习机会,学生可以给同行和业界领袖留下深刻印象,搭建自己的合作伙伴网络基础,这些关系历久弥新,更待发展。

实现梦想

无论你想在创业还是现有社会组织就业过程中提出具有社会影响的举措,社会创业和创新管理硕士学位都能磨练你在社会影响和创新领域的技能。

岭南大学的《社会企业创新创业管理文学》硕士课程给予学生咨询各行各业社会和商业专家、进入各类领域实习的机会。该课程面向所有想要拓宽发展职业道路的在职人员和应届毕业生。

 

心动不如行动:

 

本文首发于 2021 October ,

作者:

最新文章

被分享最多的文章

被阅读最多的文章

QS China