Why You Should Study Environmental Policy In China

Sponsored Content

Updated September 12, 2021 Updated September 12

Sponsored by Duke Kunshan University

What do the state of California and China have in common? You might not think a lot, but the US state and Asian superpower actually both have the resources, talent and resolve to tackle prescient environmental challenges. There’s currently a vacancy for global leadership in environmental policy, and China’s filling it.

The observed adverse effects of temperature rise and precipitation changes have made the Asian leader all too conscious that climate change is no hoax. Indeed, at the same time the US were threatening to pull out of the Paris Agreement in June, Beijing made clear its intention to be at the forefront of any global environmental initiatives.

If you want to make a difference and help the world resolve key challenges, there’s a chance you’ve already considered careers in environmental policy, but here’s why China specifically should be on your radar.

China’s made huge strides in environmental policy

As much as 30 percent of China’s aluminum smelting capacity could be closed every year in an effort to reduce what many call “the airpocalypse”, while coal consumption dipped by 4.7 percent last year.

The government has taken stringent measures to, in the words of Li Keqiang, “make our skies blue again”, including clamping down on factories that fail to meet tighter environmental standards, and investing over US$60 billion to develop reforestation. The country is also artificially breeding 230 endangered species to maintain stable population levels.

The Chinese government has also invested in eco-friendly businesses. Air pollution kills approximately 1.1 million people each year in the country, so it’s no wonder sustainability features high up in President Xi Jinping’s agenda.

Chinese universities are running the best programs in the world

In recent years, Chinese universities have been gearing up to cater to a growing number of international students looking to develop expertise in a particular field and develop an international profile. Among them, the prestigious Duke Kunshan University offers a master’s in environmental policy taught in English, which includes a semester abroad at Duke University in Durham, North Carolina in the US.

The two-year program draws together economics, political science, sociology, history, law, statistics and environmental science to educate the next generation of business leaders, policy-makers and startup CEOs about sustainability.

Future-proof job opportunities across tech, policy and industry

Aside from the personally rewarding aspects of working in sustainability, environmental careers are possibly the most future-proof of sectors. Climate change will remain a global challenge in the next 100 years, and it will affect all nations. What’s more, there will be many opportunities in sustainability across sectors, including manufacturing, technology and government, as demand for environmental products like air-pollution face masks or sustainable food continues to grow.

Businesses are already shifting toward sustainability, with market leaders such as Unilever, Sainsbury's, WalMart and Marks & Spencer stepping forward and setting climate targets, having realized the financial benefits of investing in reducing waste. So, whatever sector you hope to move into, studying environmental policy at university will give you an edge over other graduates, as recruiters seek to tap into your expertise and network of contacts in China.

Apply online to Duke Kunshan University’s competitive master of environmental policy here or contact the institution with your queries directly at (+86) 512-57779988.

This article was originally published in October 2017 . It was last updated in September 2021

26 shares

Related Articles

Most Shared

Most Read

English

为什么说应该到中国学习环境政策?

更新日期 February 18, 2020 更新日期 February 18

来源:昆山杜克大学

加利福尼亚州和中国具有什么共同之处呢?你可能觉得相似点不会太多,但实际上,美国这个州和亚洲这个超级大国都有着迎接未来环境挑战的资源、人才和决心。目前,环境政策缺乏全球性的领导者,而中国正在填补这个空缺。

已发现的气温上升、降水变化等不利影响让亚洲领导人明白,气候变化并不是一场骗局,事实上,就在美国威胁要退出今年六月签署的《巴黎协定》时,北京方面明确表示愿意站在任何全球环保行动的前沿。

如果你希望有所作为、帮助解决世界面临的主要挑战,考虑过从事有关环境政策的工作的话,你的机会来了,接下来让我们看看为什么你要特别关注中国。

中国在环境政策方面取得了巨大进步

为了减少所谓的“空气末日”,中国每年甚至会关闭近30%的铝冶炼产能,与此同时,去年的煤炭消耗也降低了4.7%。

政府还采取了严格的应对措施,用李克强的话说就是要“让我们的蓝天重现”,包括取缔不符合更严格环保标准的企业、投资逾600亿美元来植树造林,此外,中国还在人工繁殖230种濒危物种,来维持稳定的种群水平。

中国政府同时大量投资了环保企业。在中国,每年约有110万人死于空气污染,因此,习近平主席把可持续发展问题列为首要议程就不足为奇了。

中国各高校正在运转着全球最好的项目

近年来,中国的大学一直在努力迎合越来越多的国际学生的需求,期待开发自身在某一特定领域的特长、树立国际形象。其中,久负盛名的昆山杜克大学就开设了英文授课的环境政策硕士项目,课程中有一个学期是去往杜克大学美国北卡罗莱纳州达勒姆校区留学。

这个为期两年的项目,将经济学、政治学、社会学、历史、法律、统计与环境科学结合在一起,对下一代商业领导、政策决定者及创始企业的CEO们进行可持续发展方面的教育。

科技、政策与工业等行业 不会过时的工作机会

可持续发展、环保方面的工作除了带来个人回报外,还是最具未来保障的行业之一。气候变化在接下来100年间,仍会是一个全球性挑战,会影响到所有国家。更重要的是,随着对防污染口罩/面罩、可持续食物等环保产品的需求不断提高,包括制造业、科学技术和政府在内的部门都在可持续性发展方面存在许多机会。

企业也已经开始向可持续发展转型。像联合利华、森宝利、沃尔玛和玛莎百货等市场领军企业都已经意识到投资于减少浪费项目的经济效益,开始着手规划气候方面的目标。所以,不管你希望涉足什么行业,在大学里学习环境政策都会让你比其他毕业生更有优势,因为招聘方会非常需要你的专业知识和你在中国的人脉。

点击这里在线申请昆山杜克大学的环境政策硕士课程,也可直接致电(+86) 512-57779988咨询。

本文首发于 2017 October , 更新于 2020 February 。

作者:

最新文章

被分享最多的文章

被阅读最多的文章

QS China