5 reasons to study a double master's degree at an international university

By H. Young

Updated April 22, 2022 Updated April 22

 

Sponsored by Bocconi University

A double master’s degree gives you the opportunity to gain two postgraduate degrees from two separate business schools in the time it takes to complete one. Many students use this as an opportunity to study abroad at an internationally focused university, such as Bocconi University in Italy.

Bocconi University offers a wide range of double degree programmes in partnership with more than 280 top universities in Europe, India, Brazil, the USA, Canada, Oceania and mainland China.

Studying a double master’s degree at an international university shows employers that you are able to work in multicultural teams and address new challenges, pushing your boundaries to learn and take on new opportunities. In other words, it proves that you would make a good future leader.

Yiwen Jin is a 24-year-old double master’s degree student from Zhejiang, mainland China. She is currently studying an MSc International Management at Bocconi University and MA Banking and Finance in St. Gallen in Switzerland.

She said: “From the start, I was determined to apply for a double degree for my master’s. I believed this would be a unique experience. I would get to live and study in a new place, which is rather different from just traveling there.”

If like Yiwen you’re considering studying a double master’s degree at an international university, here are five ways it could benefit you:

 

Take advantage of international experiences

After studying abroad in the UK for her undergraduate degree, Yiwen was eager to continue her international education. She liked the idea of studying in the US and first came across Italy’s Bocconi University while browsing Yale University’s website, as Bocconi is one of Yale’s partner schools.

“Bocconi is the only European school I applied to. I received offers from both Bocconi and an Ivy League school,” said Yiwen.

To decide between the two schools, Yiwen contacted alumni on LinkedIn to ask about their experiences. After doing this, she chose Bocconi University. 

Yiwen said: “My first impression of Bocconi is that it is very international. As a Bocconi student, you have plenty of international opportunities, such as double degrees, exchange programmes and research projects.”

 

Understand what it’s like to work and study in a diverse environment

If you decide to do a double master’s degree, where you’ll study will depend on the programme you undertake.

Bocconi University in Italy currently offers three types of double degree.

The Future Leaders International Double Degree undergraduate programme joins Bocconi’s BSc in International Economics and Management (BIEM) with a degree at Guanghua School of Management of Peking University in Beijing, to form a four-year course.

Alessia Fontanari studied the China Master in International Management (China MiM) at Fudan University in Shanghai, mainland China. She said: "It was a great learning experience, and very different from the traditional exchanges. This kind of situation allows you to truly integrate into the host country”.

The graduate double degree offers graduate students the possibility to spend the first year at Bocconi, and the second year in another prestigious partner school specialising in their field of interest.

Yiwen, who is studying the graduate double degree, said: “I am so lucky I can study a programme I really like. Because of staying in a diverse environment, I know myself much better and I know what I want for my career and my life.”

Finally, the law double degree offers fourth-year law students the possibility to spend their fifth and final year of the Integrated Master of Arts in Law in another prestigious partner school, specialising in their field of interest.

 

You’ll have experiences that will help shape your career path

Studying abroad can expand your mindset, helping you realise your career goals and learn practical, transferrable skills.

By studying a double master’s degree, you will study in two different countries, giving you even more scope to enjoy new experiences.

Armando Cilento is an international management graduate who obtained his double degree at Bocconi and HEC Paris. He said: “This experience was an occasion to put myself to the test, to become part of another culture. It was like having a double passport".

“Thanks to this double degree programme, I can push myself and learn two different fields for my master’s in the same length of time for other single master’s programmes. I receive double the knowledge and double the happiness.”

She added: “By studying and living abroad, I can better understand people from different cultural backgrounds and also let others know my thoughts and understanding.”

 

Study two different degrees to build a diverse skillset

One of the main benefits of the double degree is that you will get to learn two completely different subjects at two international universities. This helps you to gain a unique, diverse skillset which will make you stand out in the graduate job market.

Bocconi’s international management programme is very interactive and aims to encourage collaborative approaches to problem solving.

“There are lots of case studies and group work activities that can help develop soft skills including quick learning, time management, effective communication, team work and leadership,” said Yiwen.

The teaching varies from module to module, and some aspects of the programme will be completed online. Yiwen explains that each of the professors at Bocconi University have different teaching styles and experiences, which only adds to the diversity of the programme.

She said: “During my year studying at Bocconi, I learnt so many interpersonal skills. My first presentation at St. Gallen for integration week was an unexpected success thanks to Bocconi’s training.”

 

Push yourself out of your comfort zone

Although there are many benefits of studying a double master’s degree, the programme is challenging and will push you beyond your comfort zone.

The double degree programmes contain many group assignments and presentations and students are expected to do additional reading around the subject outside of class.

“The teaching at Bocconi is very rigorous and intense because it contains many core courses, internship, foreign language study and thesis,” said Yiwen. “To some extent, this double master’s degree is quite different from my bachelor’s degree, but I am determined to get out of my comfort zone and challenge myself.”

 

This article was originally published in April 2022 .

Written by

Related Articles

Most Shared

Most Read

English

到国际化大学攻读双硕士学位课程的5点原因

By H. Young

更新日期 April 22, 2022 更新日期 April 22

博科尼大学赞助

通过攻读双硕士学位课程,学生可以在完成单一学位的时间内获得两个由两所不同商学院颁发的研究生学位。许多学生以此为契机,来到意大利博科尼大学等国际重点大学留学。

博科尼大学与欧洲、印度、巴西、美国、加拿大、大洋洲、中国大陆的280多所顶尖大学合作,提供丰富的双学位课程。

到国际化大学攻读双硕士学位课程无疑是在向雇主表明,你有能力在多元文化团队中工作、应对新奇挑战、探索新知、抓住新机遇。换句话说,双学位展示出你未来成为出色领袖的潜力。

金怡文(音译)今年24岁,来自浙江省,是一位双硕士学位研究生,目前在博科尼大学攻读国际管理理学硕士(MSc International Management)课程的同时还在瑞士圣加仑大学攻读银行和金融文学硕士(MA Banking and Finance)课程。

她说:"一开始我就决定申请双硕士学位课程。我相信这一定能够成为我独特的经历,因为我会在新地点生活、学习,这必然与仅仅沿途旅行的经历大不相同。"

如果你也与怡文一样,打算在国际化大学攻读双硕士学位,请仔细阅读,下文将介绍双硕士学位课程的五大优势。

利用出国留学的优势

在英国完成本科学业后,怡文希望继续接受国际化教育。她曾期待到美国深造,因而在耶鲁大学的网站上第一次巧遇意大利博科尼大学,因为博科尼大学与耶鲁大学建立了合作伙伴关系。

怡文说:我只申请了一所欧洲学校,就是博科尼大学。后来我收到了博科尼大学和一所常春藤盟校的录取通知。”

为了做出抉择,怡文通过领英联系到了不少校友,了解他们的经历后最终选择了博科尼大学。

怡文说:“博科尼大学给我的第一印象是国际化程度高,因为博科尼大学的学生享有大量国际化的双学位、交换生和研究项目机会。"

感受多元环境下的工作和学习

双硕士学位课程的学习地点取决于所选课程。

意大利博科尼大学目前提供三类双学位课程。

“未来领导者国际双学位”( Future Leaders International Double Degree)本科项目学制四年,要求学生同时完成博科尼大学国际经济与管理理学学士(BSc in International Economics and Management)(BIEM)学位和北京大学光华管理学院一项学位的课程。

阿莱西娅·丰塔纳莱(Alessia Fontanari)曾在上海复旦大学攻读中国国际管理硕士(China Master in International Management)(China MiM)课程,她说:"这次学习经历非常好,它与传统的交换生项目不同,因为这一次你可以真正融入东道主国家"。

攻读双硕士学位课程的学生有机会第一学年在博科尼大学完成学业,第二学年在其他知名大学学习兴趣领域课程,这些大学均为与博科尼大学建立合作的各领域佼佼者。

怡文目前正在攻读双硕士学位课程,她说:"我很幸运,因为我在学习自己非常喜欢的项目,而且在多元化的环境中,我更加了解自己,也明确了自己的目标职业和理想生活。

最后,攻读法律双学位,即法律综合文学硕士学位(Integrated Master of Arts in Law)课程的大四学生可以选择在第五学年,也就是最后一学年在其他知名大学学习兴趣领域课程,这些大学均为与博科尼大学建立合作的各领域佼佼者。

获得助力开拓自身职业道路的各项经历

出国留学可以帮助学生开阔思维、实现职业目标、学习实用技能。

攻读双硕士学位课程的学生将前往两个不同的国家完成学业,获得更多收获新经历的机会。

阿曼多·奇伦托(Armando Cilento)已获得博科尼大学和巴黎高等商学院国际管理学双学位。他说:"这段学习经历考验了我融入新文化的能力,给我一种拥有双国籍护照的感觉。”

“我庆幸自己参加了这个双学位项目,因为我可以在完成一门硕士学位项目的时间里激励自己学习两个领域的硕士学位课程,收获双倍知识和双倍快乐。”

她还说:"在国外的学习和生活既让我更好地了解不同文化的人,也让其他人知道了我的想法和理解。"

攻读两份不同学位课程,培养自身多元化技能

攻读双学位课程的一大优势是,学生可以在两所国际化大学中学习两门完全不同的学科,获得独特的多元化技能,而这些技能会帮助学生在就业市场中脱颖而出。

博科尼大学的国际管理项目互动性强,旨在鼓励学生通过合作解决问题。

怡文表示:"大量的案例研究和小组活动可以帮助学生发展软技能,如快速学习、时间管理、有效沟通、团队工作、领导力等。"

每个模块的教学方式各不相同,这个项目要求的某些任务就可以在线上完成。怡文说,博科尼大学每位教授的教学风格、人生阅历均不相同,这也使得课程更加多元。

她说:"在博科尼大学求学的一年里,我学到了很多人际交往技巧。多亏了在博科尼大学的历练,我在圣加仑大学交流周活动上第一次做报告演讲就大获成功,真让我意想不到"。

鞭策学生跳脱舒适圈

攻读双硕士学位课程固然能带给学生众多优势,但要完成这类课程并非易事,因为它会鞭策学生跳脱舒适圈。

双学位课程要求学生完成许多小组作业和报告演讲,学生还需要课下围绕某一主题进行补充阅读。

"博科尼大学教风严谨,课程安排紧凑,因为它包含许多核心课程学习、课外实习、外语学习和论文写作。"怡文说,"从某种程度来说,这个双硕士学位课程与我的学士学位课程有很大不同,但我决心跳出舒适圈,挑战自我。"

 

本文首发于 2022 April ,

作者:

最新文章

被分享最多的文章

被阅读最多的文章

QS China