How Much Does it Cost to Study in the UK?

Updated January 16, 2020 Updated January 16

UK tuition fees are frequently a source of controversy, with prices having risen to eye-watering levels for home students (UK/EU) in recent years. Now, UK and EU students at English universities are required to pay up to £9,250 (~US$13,050) per year. 

International undergraduate tuition fees vary considerably, starting at around £10,000 (~US$14,130) and going up to £38,000 (~US$53,700) or more for medical degrees (source: Reddin Survey of University Tuition Fees). At all levels, humanities and social sciences degrees tend to cost the least, while laboratory and clinical degree programs are markedly more expensive, but when you combine these fees with the average cost of living in the UK, around £12,200 (~US$16,950) per year, then it can be hard to see how it’s possible to study in the UK without it costing you a small fortune. The total average cost of studying in the UK is estimated to be at least £22,200 (~US$31,380) per year, with studying in London likely to be significantly more expensive.

While these costs may be daunting, remember that most UK universities offer shorter programs compared to countries such as the US (three years for the average undergraduate degree instead of four, and one year for a master’s degree instead of two), so you may be able to subtract a year's worth of fees and living costs from your total budget.

If these figures haven’t been enough to put you off studying in the UK, here’s a closer look at what you’ll be spending your money on, and how Brexit may affect your costs.

Students’ cost of living in the UK

Study in the UK

Current UK student visa requirements stipulate that you must have at least £1,015 (~US$1,435) in your bank account for each month you plan to stay in the UK anywhere outside of London. This works out as £12,180 (~US$17,200) per year.

If you wish to study in London, you’ll need to budget considerably more - at least £1,265 (~US$1,800) per month, the equivalent of £15,180 (~US$21,500) a year.  

When you’re here, you can make the cost of living in the UK more affordable by taking advantage of student discounts – for example, students in London can get an 18+ Student Oyster photocard, giving you 30 percent off travelcards and bus/tram season tickets, and students all over the country can apply for an NUS Extra Card for a small fee.

One other way to beat the banker and make your money go further is to study somewhere in the UK where the cost of living is cheaper. According to the Natwest Student Living Index 2017, Welsh capital Cardiff is the most affordable city for students in the UK, followed in the top three by Aberdeen in Scotland, and Durham in north-east England.

Accommodation

Most students live in university halls of residence in their first year before moving into rented private accommodation in their following years. Many universities offer both self-catered and catered halls of residence, with food included in the price of rent for the latter.

The biggest difference in the cost of living in London compared to the rest of the UK is in rent, with University College London (UCL) estimating accommodation expenses of £8,073 (~US$11,400) per academic year (nine months/39 weeks). However, you may be able to find more affordable accommodation in university halls or a flat share.

The results of Save the Student’s National Student Accommodation Survey 2017 found that students spend an average of £125 (~US$175) per week on rent in the UK – with a huge regional variation: students in Northern Ireland spent only £91 (~US$129) a week, which is exactly half the amount spent by those in London (£182/US$257). Unless bills are included, you’ll probably spend a further £70 per month (~US$100) on bills for utilities and the internet.

Other average living costs in the UK

  • A weekly food shop will likely cost you about £30/$42, and a meal in a pub or restaurant can be about £12/$17
  • Depending on your course, you’ll likely spend at least £30 a month on books and other course materials
  • Your mobile phone bill is likely to be at least £15/$22 a month
  • Gym membership costs roughly £32/$45 a month, but you may be able to get a student discount
  • A typical night out (outside of London) costs about £30/$42 in total
  • In terms of entertainment, if you want to watch TV in your room, you need a TV license – this is £147 (~US$107) per year. A cinema ticket costs roughly £10/$14
  • Depending on your spending habits, you might spend £35-55 (US$49-77) or so on clothing each month

UK tuition fees – UK/EU students

University of Cambridge

There are two levels of tuition fees at publicly funded UK universities: home student fees (including EU students) and international student fees. For home students, institutions in England can charge up to a maximum of £9,250 (~US$13,050) per year for undergraduate degree programs. In Wales, the maximum fee is £9,000 (~US$12,700), while in Northern Ireland the limit is £4,160 (~US$5,900) for EU and Northern Irish students, and up to £9,250 for students from the rest of the UK.

In Scotland, an undergraduate degree is effectively free for students from Scotland and the EU. This is thanks to a subsidy from the Student Awards Agency for Scotland (SAAS). The SAAS also offers a tuition fee loan of up to £5,500 (~US$7,770) for home postgraduate students.

It should be noted that the Scottish definition of “home” student differs slightly, in that it doesn’t include students from the rest of the UK – i.e. England, Wales or Northern Ireland. Students from the rest of the UK who want to undertake an undergraduate degree in Scotland will pay up to £9,250 a year.

There’s also good news for students from Wales, who only need to pay £3,900 (~US$5,500) per year in UK tuition fees to study anywhere in the UK, with the rest covered by the Welsh government.

Postgraduate tuition fees vary significantly, depending on the university and the subject. Home students may be able to receive some funding from one of the UK’s research councils, the university itself, or via a career sponsorship scheme.

UK tuition fees – international students

For international students, undergraduate fees for 2017/18 started at around £10,000 (US$14,130) for lecture-based courses, going up to £38,000 (~US$53,700) or more for a top undergraduate medical degree. You can view the 10 most affordable universities for international undergraduates here.

At postgraduate level, international fees for classroom-based programs in 2017/18 started at around £11,000 (~US$15,545) and went up to £32,000 (~US$45,200). For laboratory-based programs, average annual fees vary from £12,000 (~US$16,940) to £27,200 (~US$38,400). You can view the most affordable UK universities for international postgraduates here.

UK scholarships and student funding

UK Scholarships

Home (UK/EU) students are eligible for loans, grants and other forms of funding to cover their UK tuition fees, with differing amounts of funding depending on location. While student loans for home students tend to cover all tuition fees, the additional loan to cover the cost of living in the UK often falls short of the amount actually needed. In the 2017/18 academic year, the maximum living loan was UK£8,430 (~$11,900) for students outside London and up to £11,002 (~US$15,500) for those who study in London. In both cases, this is likely to be a few thousand pounds short of your annual living expenses.

Undergraduate home students at private UK universities (of which there are only three) can still apply for tuition fee loans for most courses, as well as maintenance loans and maintenance grants. However, the tuition fee loan might not cover the full amount.

A large range of scholarships to study in the UK are also offered by the government, individual universities, independent organizations and various charities. The Education UK website provides an overview of scholarships available from the British Council and other organizations. It is also worth checking to see what scholarships and support schemes are available from the government and other organizations in your own country.

Prominent UK scholarships for international students include:

  • Chevening Scholarships – Government-funded UK scholarships open to outstanding students with leadership potential from around the world, to study at postgraduate level at accredited UK universities.
  • Marshall Scholarships – Scholarships for high-achieving US students to study in the UK.
  • Commonwealth Scholarships and fellowships – UK scholarships offered by member governments to citizens of other Commonwealth countries.

UK scholarships are more widely available at postgraduate level, with relatively few offered for undergraduate students. However, always check with your chosen university, as support is often available for exceptional undergraduate students.

For a longer list of prominent international scholarships to study in the UK, see this article. For advice on scholarship applications, download our guide on how to find scholarships to study abroad

What impact will Brexit have?

The UK’s decision to exit the European Union (Brexit) means many EU students are concerned that their tuition fees could increase. However, there’s no sign the government plans to increase fees yet. In fact, so far many UK universities have pledged to keep tuition fees fixed at the same rate for current EU students for the duration of their course. It’s also been confirmed that EU students enrolling at UK universities in both autumn 2018 and autumn 2019 will remain eligible for the same fees and financial aid as domestic students throughout their course, even after the UK leaves the EU in March 2018. 

This article was originally published in October 2013. It was most recently updated in July 2018.

Want more content like this? Register for free site membership to get regular updates and your own personal content feed.

This article was originally published in July 2018 . It was last updated in January 2020

Written by

Jane Playdon is a TopUniversities.com author and blogger.

Related Articles

Most Shared

Most Read

English

在英国学习费用如何?

更新日期 May 12, 2020 更新日期 May 12

英国的学费经常都是人们争论的起源,近年来,对于英国/欧盟的国内学生来说,学费已经涨到了令人欲哭无泪的水平。现在,英国和欧盟国家的大学生每年都需要支付高达9250英镑(约合13050美元)的学费。

国际本科生学费差别很大,从大约10000英镑(约合14130美元)起到38000英镑(约合53700美元)或者更高(医学学位的学费)(资料来源:雷丁大学学费调查)。在各个阶段,人文和社会科学学位的学习成本通常都最低,而实验室和临床学位课程项目的学习成本都明显更高,但如果再结合考虑下在英国留学的平均生活成本[每年约12200英镑(约合16950美元)],便可想而知,如果不多花点钱,就不可能在英国完成学业。在英国学习的平均总费用估计至少为每年22200英镑(约31380美元),而在伦敦学习的费用可能还要比这高得多。

尽管这些成本可能令人望而生畏,但需要注意的是,与美国等国家相比,大多数英国大学提供的课程时间都比较短(平均本科学位的学习时间为3年,而非4年;硕士学位的学习时间为1年,而非2年),因此可以从总预算中减去一整年的学费和生活成本。

如果这些数字还没有让您放弃去英国学习的想法,下面就来仔细看看钱都会花去哪里,以及英国退出欧盟会对您的学习成本产生怎样的影响。

学生在英国生活的成本

Study in the UK

目前英国学生签证要求规定,如果计划在伦敦以外的任何其他地方生活,则您的银行账户上每个月必须至少有1015英镑(约合1435美元)的存款,相当于每年12180英镑(约合17200美元)。

如果想在伦敦学习,您将需要更多的预算——每月至少1265英镑(约合1800美元),相当于每年15180英镑(约合21500美元)。

在来到这里之后,您可以利用学生折扣政策减少自己在英国的生活成本——例如,伦敦的学生可以得到一张成年学生牡蛎卡,在旅游卡和公共汽车/电车季票上享受30%的减免,全国各地的学生都可以申请一张NUS Extra学生卡,只需支付很少的费用。

另外一个经济省钱的方法就是去英国生活成本更低的地方学习。根据2017年英国西部学生生活指数可知,威尔士首府加的夫市对于英国留学生来说是最为经济的城市,紧随其后的是苏格兰的阿伯丁市和英格兰东北部的达勒姆市。

住宿

大多数学生在第一年会住在大学宿舍里,然后在接下来的几年搬进私人租住房屋。许多大学同时提供不包餐和包餐的宿舍,后者的房租中包括食物费用。

与英国其他地区相比,伦敦生活成本的最大差别就在于租金,伦敦大学学院 (UCL) 估计每个学年(9个月/39周)的住宿费用为8073英镑(约合11400美元)。然而,您可以在学校宿舍或分租公寓找到较为便宜的住处。

根据“救助学生”组织2017年全国学生住宿情况调查的结果显示,在英国,学生平均每周的租房成本为125英镑(约合175美元)——其中存在巨大的地区差异:北爱尔兰学生每周的租房成本仅为91英镑(约合129美元),正好是伦敦学生花费的一半(182英镑/257美元)。除非包括在租房账单内,否则您每个月可能还要再花70英镑(约100美元)的水电费和网费。

在英国的其他平均生活费用

  • •    每周去一次食品店可能需要花费30英镑/42美元,而在酒吧或餐馆吃一顿饭可能需要花费12英镑/17美元;
    •    根据具体的课程,您可能每个月需要至少花费30英镑购买书籍和其他课程材料;
    •    电话费可能至少是每月15英镑/22美元;
    •    健身房会员费用每月大约32英镑/45美元,但学生可以获得一定的折扣; 
    •    一次典型的夜晚外出活动(伦敦以外)总共需要花费大约30英镑/42美元;
    •    在娱乐方面,如果想在房间里看电视,则需要办理电视许可——每年的费用为147英镑(约107美元)。每张电影票大约10英镑/14美元;
    •    根据自己消费习惯,您每个月可能要花费35-55英镑(49-77美元)左右购买衣物。

英国学费——英国/欧盟学生

University of Cambridge

英国公立大学的学费分为两类:国内学生学费(包括欧盟学生)和国际学生学费。对于国内学生来说,英国的大学本科学位课程项目每年最高收费为9250英镑(约合13050美元)。在威尔士,最高学费为9000英镑(约合12700美元),而在北爱尔兰,欧盟和北爱尔兰学生的最高学费为4160英镑(约合5900美元),英国其他地区学生的最高学费为9250英镑。

苏格兰,来自苏格兰和欧盟的学生可以免费读取本科学位。这主要得益于苏格兰学生资助机构(SAAS)的补贴。学生资助机构还可为国内研究生提供高达5500英镑(约合7770美元)的学费贷款。

应该注意的是,苏格兰对“国内”学生的定义略有不同,因为它不包括来自英国其他地区的学生——如英格兰、威尔士或北爱尔兰。英国其他地区的学生如果想在苏格兰攻读本科学位,每年需要支付高达9250英镑的学费。

威尔士的学生也有好消息,他们在英国任何地方学习都只需要支付每年3900英镑(约合5500美元)的学费,其余费用由威尔士政府支付。

研究生学费差别很大,取决于学校和学科。国内的学生可以从英国的研究委员会、学校本身或者通过职业赞助计划获得一些资助。

英国学费——国际学生

对于国际学生来说,2017/18学年的本科学费为10000英镑(约合14130美元)左右起步,然后升至38000英镑(约合53700美元),而对于顶尖的本科医学学位,学费则更高。点击此处,查看国际本科学生学费最低的10所大学。

在研究生阶段,2017/2018学年课堂课程项目的国际学生学费从11000英镑(约合15545美元)左右起步,然后升至32000英镑(约合45200美元)。对于实验室课程项目,年平均学费从12000英镑(约合16940美元)到27200英镑(约合38400美元)不等。点击此处,查看国际研究生学费最低的英国大学。

英国奖学金与学生资助

UK Scholarships

国内(英国/欧盟)学生有资格获得贷款、助学金和其他形式的资助,用来支付其在英国的学费,不同地点的资助金额不尽相同。尽管针对国内学生发放的学生贷款通常都能抵付所有的学费,但其他针对生活成本方面的贷款却往往都不足以满足实际生活所需。在2017/18学年,对于伦敦以外的学生,最高生活贷款为8430英镑(约合11900美元),对于在伦敦学习的学生,最高为11002英镑(约合15500美元)。在这两种情况下,贷款金额可能都会比您每年的生活开销少几千英镑。

英国私立大学(只有三所)的本科生也可以为大多数课程申请学费贷款,以及生活贷款和生活补助。但是,其学费贷款可能无法抵付全部学费。

政府、个别大学、独立组织和各种慈善机构也在提供大量奖学金资助学生们在英国学习。英国教育网站提供了英国文化委员会和其他组织提供的奖学金概况。同样值得注意的是,您也应该了解下自己所在国家政府和其他组织都提供了哪些奖学金和资助计划。

国际学生的英国奖学金主要包括:

  • 志奋领奖学金——由政府资助的英国奖学金,针对的人群是来自世界各地具有领导潜力的优秀学生,并且还要在经认证的英国大学攻读研究生学位。
  • 马歇尔奖学金——针对的人群是在英国学习的成就优秀的美国学生。
  • 英联邦奖学金和助研金——由成员国政府向其他英联邦国家的公民提供的英国奖学金

英国的奖学金在研究生阶段申获的难度相对较低,而本科生阶段却相对较高。然而,一定要和自己选择的大学核实清楚,因为资助往往都会提供给特殊的本科学生。

点击此处,查看关于在英国上学可获得的知名国际奖学金的详情列表。有关奖学金申请方面的建议,请下载我们的奖学金指南了解如何寻找出国留学奖学金机会

“脱欧”会产生什么影响?

英国做出退出欧盟(脱欧)的决定之后,许多欧盟学生可能都会担心自己的学费会有所上涨。然而,目前没有任何迹象表明政府计划上调学费。事实上,到目前为止,许多英国大学已经承诺在课业期间保持当前欧盟学生的学费水平不变。同样得到证实的是,即使在英国于2018年3月脱离欧盟之后,2018年秋季和2019年秋季在英国大学注册入学的欧盟学生,在其整个课业期间,仍将有资格获得与国内学生相同的资费标准和经济资助。

本篇文章最初发表于2013年10月。最近一次更新日期为2018年7月。

想要更多这方面的内容吗?免费注册成为会员 ,获得定期更新信息和个性化的订阅内容。

本文首发于 2018 July , 更新于 2020 May 。

作者:

Jane Playdon is a TopUniversities.com author and blogger.

最新文章

被分享最多的文章

被阅读最多的文章

QS China