30 Minutes at a QS Event Can Change Your Life Forever. Here’s How

Craig OCallaghan

Updated December 25, 2020 Updated December 25

Nancy Jiang hadn’t even considered studying in Europe before. Like many of her fellow students in China, she’d believed continuing her education in the US was the best path for her future. After one 30-minute conversation with an admissions officer at the QS Connect 1-2-1 event in Beijing, everything changed.

Now, Nancy will be heading to Barcelona, to study at ESADE Business & Law School and pursue her dream in studying business analytics. We chatted to Nancy to find out more about her QS Connect 1-2-1 experience and her hopes for her upcoming master’s course in Spain.

The QS Connect 1-2-1 offered something more than your normal university fair

“I was so thrilled to participate in the QS Connect 1-2-1 event. The QS university rankings are quite famous here in China, and I was attracted by the idea that I’d be able to talk to the admissions officers face-to-face for 30 minutes. I saw it as a great opportunity to present myself to admissions officers. As well as allowing me to get to know the schools and their resources, it would also allow the schools to get to know me better and decide if I would be a good fit.”

Having a lengthy conversation with admissions staff taught me so much about the university

“It was really pleasant to talk to Mary Granger, the admissions officer from ESADE. She was really nice and warm, and gave me some valuable recommendations based upon my previous experience. Honestly, before I attended the QS Connect 1-2-1 event and spoke to Mary, I had never thought about pursuing a master’s degree in Europe. I was aiming to apply to a top-ranked US institution, but I was really impressed by Mary and touched by her kindness. Because of this, I decided to apply to ESADE.

“My mom and dad were surprised by my decision and didn’t completely agree. So, I also applied to some US institutions. However, after I received all my offers, I still decided to choose ESADE. Barcelona is an amazing place to study in, the school has a really good global reputation and they offer really generous scholarships, but more important than all of these factors was my experience at the QS Connect 1-2-1 event.”

Attending the QS Connect 1-2-1 event made my master’s interview much easier

“I was really nervous before my master’s application interview with ESADE, especially as I didn’t know much about what to expect from a European school. The 40-minute interview was the best interview I’ve ever had though. Mary was very nice and her questions felt really tailored to my interests and the things I cared about. She asked me questions I hadn’t been asked by other admissions officers and the whole conversation felt so smooth. After the interview, I knew I wanted to be a part of ESADE and believed they wanted to have me join them too.

“I heard the good news from Mary a week later and was really excited. My parents may have had their doubts but they said I was always so excited and happy when I talked about ESADE and so they were glad to hear I was admitted.”

There’s so much to be gained from attending a QS event

I got everything out of the QS Connect 1-2-1 event I could wish for. If anyone reading this is interested in attending a similar event, I’d recommend doing some research online beforehand. Turn up with your CV/resume and make sure you have a clear idea of what your short-term and long-term goals are before the day itself. Knowing this will help the admissions officers get to know you better.

This article was originally published in May 2017 . It was last updated in January 2020

Written by

As editor of TopUniversities.com, Craig oversees the site's editorial content and network of student contributors. He also plays a key editorial role in the publication of several guides and reports, including the QS Top Grad School Guide.

Related Articles

Most Shared

Most Read

English

30分钟的QS活动可以永远改变你的生活

Craig OCallaghan

更新日期 December 25, 2020 更新日期 December 25

蒋南希以前根本没有考虑过去欧洲留学。和她的许多中国同学一样,她一直认为在美国继续深造是她未来的最佳途径。在北京举办的QS Connect 1-2-1活动中,与招生官进行了30分钟的交谈后,一切都改变了。

现在,Nancy将前往巴塞罗那,在ESADE商学院和法学院学习,并追求她学习商业分析的梦想。我们和Nancy聊了聊,了解了更多关于她在QS Connect 1-2-1的经历以及她对即将到来的西班牙硕士课程的期望。

QS Connect 1-2-1提供了比普通大学展更多的东西

"能参加QS连线1-2-1活动,我非常激动。QS的大学排名在中国相当有名,我被吸引了,因为我可以和招生官面对面交流30分钟。我认为这是一个向招生官展示自己的好机会。除了让我了解学校和他们的资源,也能让学校更好地了解我,决定我是否适合。"

与招生人员进行长时间的交谈,让我了解了很多关于大学的信息

"和ESADE的招生官Mary Granger交谈真的很愉快。她真的很好,很热情,根据我之前的经验给了我一些宝贵的建议。说实话,在参加QS Connect 1-2-1活动并与Mary交谈之前,我从未想过要去欧洲攻读硕士学位。本来我的目标是申请美国排名靠前的院校,但是Mary给我留下了深刻的印象,她的善意也让我很感动。正因为如此,我决定申请ESADE。

"我的爸爸妈妈对我的决定很惊讶,并没有完全同意。于是,我也申请了一些美国院校。但是,在我收到所有的录取通知书后,我还是决定选择ESADE。巴塞罗那是一个非常棒的学习场所,学校在全球享有非常好的声誉,他们提供的奖学金也非常丰厚,但比这些因素更重要的是我参加QS Connect 1-2-1活动的经历。"

参加QS Connect 1-2-1活动让我的硕士面试变得更容易了

"在ESADE的硕士申请面试之前,我真的很紧张,尤其是我对欧洲学校的情况不甚了解。不过40分钟的面试是我有史以来最好的面试。Mary人很好,她的问题感觉真的很适合我的兴趣和我关心的事情。她问了我一些其他招生官没有问过的问题,整个谈话感觉很顺利。面试结束后,我知道我想成为ESADE的一员,相信他们也想让我加入他们。

"一周后,我从Mary那里听到了好消息,真的很兴奋。我的父母可能会有疑虑,但他们说当我谈到ESADE时,我总是那么兴奋和开心,所以他们很高兴听到我被录取了。"

参加QS活动收获颇多

我从QS Connect 1-2-1活动中得到了我所希望的一切。如果有人读到这篇文章有兴趣参加类似的活动,我建议你事先在网上做一些调查。带着你的简历/履历出席活动,并确保你在活动前对自己的短期和长期目标有一个清晰的认识。了解这些将有助于招生官更好地了解你。

本文首发于 2017 May , 更新于 2020 December 。

作者:

As editor of TopUniversities.com, Craig oversees the site's editorial content and network of student contributors. He also plays a key editorial role in the publication of several guides and reports, including the QS Top Grad School Guide.

最新文章

被分享最多的文章

被阅读最多的文章

QS China