How to Apply for a PhD in the US: Advice from a Successful Applicant

Laura Bridgestock

Updated April 19, 2021 Updated April 19

Platon Selemenakis
Greek student Platon Selemenakis is pursuing a PhD in the US at Colorado State University, specializing in cancer biology. Having attended the QS World Grad School Tour while researching his study options, Platon spoke to the TopUniversities team to share his advice on choosing a university, submitting a successful PhD application, and adapting to life in the US.

What motivated you to apply for a PhD in cancer biology?

I was always interested in research, especially in cancer biology. This particular field is very challenging, mainly because the behavior of cancer cells is not black and white. The more you dig into the different pathways that drive tumorigenesis, the more vague it gets. I love challenges and that is why I took the big step to start a PhD in cancer biology.

What and where did you study previously?

In 2014, I graduated from the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens with a BSc in Biology. After my graduation I worked for two years in Dr Gorgoulis’ lab at the Medical School of Athens, Greece.

Why were you attracted to studying a PhD in the US?

I have the privilege of being a dual citizen; I am Greek-American. I was born in Brooklyn and grew up in Greece. I have family in the States so the decision was easy. In addition, universities in the US offered me a chance to apply directly for a PhD, which is what I wanted.

How did you choose a university? What made you decide on Colorado State?

I searched for universities based on two things: the PhD program of my interest and faculty members involved in research that I am interested in. Last year’s QS World Grad School Tour event in Greece also helped me find other universities to apply to. In fact, St. John’s University in New York was one of the universities that I had actually had the chance to meet with at the event.

Finally, when I had to narrow down which offer to accept, I went with Colorado State University (CSU) in Fort Collins, Colorado. When I went for the interviews at CSU, I was amazed by the program, the faculty members who I had the chance to speak with, and the quality of the research. St. John’s did not have the type of research I was looking for, so my decision was easy and I chose CSU. Not to mention that the town here in Fort Collins is beautiful and the people are amazing.

What is most important when choosing a PhD program?

When you are at the point of finding a university for your PhD, you have to consider:

1) Do they have the PhD of your interest?

2) What are the admission requirements and do you meet them?

3) Faculty members and their quality of research, papers published, grants

4) Tuition, stipend and living costs – can you make it through with the amount of money offered?

What advice would you give to others applying for a PhD in the US?

Start searching for the PhD programs that you will apply to ahead of time, at least one year before. Start preparing for the standardized tests at least seven to eight months before the application deadlines. Spend some time researching the work of faculty members that you would like to work with. Finally, apply to more than one university, as the positions for PhD are highly competitive

What do you think makes a strong PhD application?

The key to success is a strong GPA (grade point average), a diverse CV and a flawless personal statement. Also, if you have publications, it is always a helpful addition.

In the US, apart from a good GPA and high marks on the standardized tests, they also look at the extracurricular activities you’re involved in. They are not searching for a student that is all about school and work, but a person who is active, enrolled in volunteer groups or in sports clubs.

When it comes to the personal interviews, show your passion and be well-informed about the research work of your interviewers. You need to show them that you care about the position and that they should choose you over several other candidates.

How has your experience of studying in the US been so far?

I can say that so far my experience has been the very best. I am very happy with my decision. My schedule is quite hectic during the week, but my work is productive and I enjoy it. So far, no surprises and I hope it will stay like this.

The most challenging thing was to adapt to the lifestyle here and the cultural differences. It was difficult in the beginning. However, I manage day by day to overcome these challenges by meeting other international students, attending events and being involved in sports clubs. Always be open to new things!

Want more content like this? Register for free site membership to get regular updates and your own personal content feed.

This article was originally published in November 2016 . It was last updated in January 2020

Written by

The former editor of TopUniversities.com, Laura oversaw the site's editorial content and student forums. She also edited the QS Top Grad School Guide and contributed to market research reports, including 'How Do Students Use Rankings?'

Related Articles

Most Shared

Most Read

English

如何申请美国博士:一个成功申请者的建议

Laura Bridgestock

更新日期 April 19, 2021 更新日期 April 19

希腊学生Platon Selemenakis正在美国科罗拉多州立大学攻读博士学位,专业是癌症生物学。普拉顿在研究他的学习选择时参加了QS世界研究生院之旅,他向TopUniversities团队分享了他对选择大学、提交成功的博士申请以及适应美国生活的建议。

是什么促使你申请癌症生物学博士?

我一直对研究感兴趣,尤其是癌症生物学。这个特殊的领域非常具有挑战性,主要是因为癌细胞的行为不是黑白分明的。你越是深入研究驱动肿瘤发生的不同途径,就越是模糊不清。我喜欢挑战,这也是为什么我大踏步开始攻读癌症生物学博士的原因。

你之前学的是什么,在哪里学的?

2014年,我从雅典国立和卡波迪斯特里亚大学毕业,获得生物学学士学位。毕业后,我在希腊雅典医学院Gorgoulis博士的实验室工作了两年。

为什么你会被吸引到美国攻读博士学位?

我有幸拥有双重国籍,我是希腊裔美国人。我出生在布鲁克林,在希腊长大。我有家人在美国,所以这个决定很容易。此外,美国的大学为我提供了直接申请博士学位的机会,这是我想要的。

您是如何选择大学的?是什么让您决定选择科罗拉多州立大学?

我找大学的依据有两点:我感兴趣的博士项目和从事我感兴趣的研究的教师。去年在希腊举行的QS世界研究生院巡回活动也帮助我找到了其他大学的申请对象。事实上,纽约的圣约翰大学是我在活动中真正有机会见到的大学之一。

最后,当我不得不缩小接受哪个offer的范围时,我选择了位于科罗拉多州柯林斯堡的科罗拉多州立大学(CSU)。当我去参加CSU的面试时,我对这个项目、有机会与之交谈的教师以及研究的质量感到惊讶。圣约翰大学没有我想要的研究类型,所以我的决定很简单,我选择了CSU。更何况柯林斯堡这里的小镇很美,人也很好。

选择博士课程时,什么最重要?

当你在找一所大学读博士的时候,你必须考虑。

1)他们是否有你感兴趣的博士学位?

2)入学要求是什么,你是否满足?

3)教员及其研究质量,发表的论文,获得的资助。

4)学费,生活津贴和生活费–您能用所提供的金额来实现吗?

你对其他申请美国博士的人有什么建议?

提前开始寻找你要申请的博士项目,至少在一年前。至少在申请截止日期前七到八个月开始准备标准化考试。花一些时间研究你想合作的教师的工作。最后,申请一所以上的大学,因为博士的职位竞争激烈。

你认为怎样才是一份强有力的博士申请?

成功的关键是强大的GPA(平均成绩)、多样化的简历和完美无瑕的个人陈述。另外,如果你有出版物,这总是一个有益的补充。

在美国,除了良好的GPA和标准化考试的高分,他们还会看你参与的课外活动。他们寻找的并不是一个只顾着学习和工作的学生,而是一个活跃的人,参加志愿者团体或体育俱乐部。

当涉及到个人面试时,要表现出你的热情,对面试官的研究工作要有充分的了解。你需要向他们展示你对这个职位的在乎,他们应该选择你而不是其他几个候选人。

到目前为止,你在美国留学的经历如何?

我可以说,到目前为止,我的经历是最棒的。我对自己的决定非常满意。平时我的日程安排相当忙碌,但我的工作很有成效,我很享受。到目前为止,没有任何意外,我希望能保持这样的状态。

最具挑战性的事情是适应这里的生活方式和文化差异。刚开始的时候很困难。然而,我通过认识其他国际学生、参加活动和参与体育俱乐部,每天都在克服这些挑战。永远对新事物持开放态度!

想看更多这样的内容?注册免费的网站会员,以获得定期更新和你自己的个人内容推送。

本文首发于 2016 November , 更新于 2021 April 。

作者:

The former editor of TopUniversities.com, Laura oversaw the site's editorial content and student forums. She also edited the QS Top Grad School Guide and contributed to market research reports, including 'How Do Students Use Rankings?'

最新文章

被分享最多的文章

被阅读最多的文章

QS China